Oh, It’s Valentine’s Day?

Forgetting that it's Valentine's Day, being single on Valentine's Day, relationships, love, dating, humor, Modern PhilosopherSo it might have slipped my mind that today was Valentine’s Day, Modern Philosophers.

It’s not like I blanked completely.  I’m aware of what holiday falls on February 14th, and I’ve been writing Valentine’s Day themed posts for the blog, but I had no idea that today was Cupid’s special day when I went to work.  Hence the lack of red in my wardrobe.

It’s not a case of being in denial.  I’ve just been distracted lately by all the snow and its subsequent effect on my Post Traumatic Snow Disorder.  I keep waking up in the middle of the night thinking I need to shovel the driveway.

Do you want to guess how I spent my morning?

I was hanging out a second story window of The House on the Hill.  No, I wasn’t despondent because I was single on Valentine’s Day.  I was just trying to clear my roof of some of the three feet of snow that carpet bombed us yesterday.

With another foot in the forecast for tomorrow, I thought I should try to get some of the white stuff out of the way…to make room for new white stuff.

Of course, I couldn’t get the storm window open in my study.  So I finally got to use my tool box for something other than a doorstop.  I extracted a screwdriver and pried the storm window open with that and brute strength.

Then I started some lovely avalanches.  Using my trusty shovel, I pushed the snow off of the roof and onto the front lawn.  For a brief moment, I had some idea of what it must be like to be Snow Miser, hurling piles of snow at the earth below.

Once that fun was over, I went outside to clear the front porch of all the snow that had blown onto it overnight, and then widened the clearing at the end of the driveway.

Valentine's Day, Maine, snow, blizzard, humor, Modern PhilosopherAfter showering and having breakfast, my mind was focused on what the drive to work would be like in the aftermath of the storm, and how much work would be waiting for me since the office was closed yesterday.

Nowhere in those Deep Thoughts was there a hint of an idea about Valentine’s Day.

I certainly wouldn’t mind having someone special with whom to celebrate the day.  I mean, just think of how much less time I’d have to spend shoveling snow if there was a second set of hands involved in the process.

Is it sad that at the moment, one of the very top qualities I’m seeking in a female companion is the ability and willingness to operate a snow shovel?  Hey, as much as I loved Rachel and Melissa, they both always made it clear that snow removal was my job.  So I’d really like to meet someone who not only makes my heart skip a beat, but is also willing to face the next blizzard at my side.

I’ve always had a soft spot for women with glasses, so maybe my new dream woman is someone who knows her way around a shovel and/or a snow blower.

Hey, our tastes change as we mature.  This new preference makes total sense, though.

Valentine's Day, love, romance, snow, blizzards, humor, Modern PhilosopherI’ve gotten completely off track here, but in a good way.  Clearly, the Hopeless Romantic in me hasn’t give up on love.  It just seems that my internal Executive Assistant forgot to remind me it was Valentine’s Day.

Happy Valentine’s Day, Modern Philosophers.  I hope you enjoyed the day and felt a little love in your life.  I’m told it’s what the world needs now…

You don’t have to be my Valentine, but I would love it if you followed me on my blog and on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Oh, It’s Valentine’s Day?

  1. grannyK says:

    I forgot it was Valentine’s Day, too! Those things are not that important to me anymore since I’ve been single for 25 years. Sorry about all your snow troubles! My son and I had our share of shoveling and roof clearing this winter, but after a week of warmer weather it is almost totally gone!

  2. Louise says:

    Love snow in that amount if its at aspen… I know how to use a shovel, ex farm girl, but love wa ching some guy doing thosr jobs.. 😘

  3. Gail Kaufman says:

    Here’s an idea. Rather than finding a woman who shovels, find one who can afford to hire a snow removal service. Then you can enjoy snow days in front of a romantic fire while someone else does the work.

  4. Louise says:

    Yeah gail best idea ever

  5. I’d just find a place to live that doesn’t get 4′ of snow in the span of a week 🙂

  6. Ocean Bream says:

    I forgot about Valentine’s day until my husband came home from work and said, ‘wow, my boss left really early today because his wife was mad he was going to be late for a dinner reservation because, guess what, it’s Valentine’s day today!’ and then I was like, ‘Hey! Where’s MY dinner reservation!?’ but in a jokey way because for some reason, Valentine’s day just slips by our radar. Maybe we are just too lazy. I spent it doing laundry while he was downstairs zombied out on the sofa. Either way, I raise my glass of hot milk to your finding a beautiful, bespectacled lady wielding a snow shovel who is more than willing to face the incoming by your side 🙂

  7. Good luck with your search for a willing lady to clear the ever growing pile of snow with you by her side! Perhaps being short-sighted might help – if she removed her glasses she might not realise just how much snow there really is! LOL! Perhaps there are compensations of being myopic…

Leave a Reply

