We’ll Cross That Bridge When They Plow It

The city of Bangor, Maine has announced that it will not be plowing its sidewalks after a blizzard pounded the city with two feet of snowI established earlier this week, Modern Philosophers, that I have forgotten how to properly enjoy a day off.

I spent Monday’s snow day shoveling out from under twenty-four inches of snow.  Today was another day off, and my inner Ferris Bueller @#$% the bed yet again.

It snowed last night, but we didn’t end up getting the eight to twelve inches they originally predicted.

Tangent time: Do meteorologists really have any idea of how much snow a storm will bring, or do they all get together, settle on a number, and report it like law?

Regardless, we ended up with a few inches.  Nothing that couldn’t have waited until later in the day, except I’d made an appointment to bring my car to the mechanic.  That meant I had to get up early, clear the snow in the driveway, and then tackle the snow mountain left at the foot of the driveway by the city plow.

Since I’m always talking about this annoying pile of snow re-gifted to me by the city after Snow Miser had already left it for me with a big bow wrapped around it out in the street, I thought I’d take a photo.

I hope this does it some justice…

The snow gift left at the end of the driveway by the city plowAs you can see, it is much higher than the level of the snow that fell overnight in the driveway.  And if you look closely, you can see that the street is still in crappy condition.

After I dropped off the car, I had to walk into Bangor to have my income taxes done at the Bangor Public Library.  This is a wonderful free service that I take advantage of every year, but for some weird reason, it always snows on the day I take off weeks in advance.

Does anyone else sense Snow Miser’s involvement?

It’s a quick fifteen minute walk across the bridge to get to the library, but today’s journey was made more difficult by the fact that Brewer and Bangor haven’t plowed the sidewalks since Monday’s blizzard.

I’m okay with walking in the street in my neighborhood because it’s so peaceful, but I had no idea that the sidewalks on the bridge had not been cleared!

Bangor, Maine, snow day, anger, humor, Modern PhilosopherBrewer, Bangor, Maine, crossing a bridge, walking in snow, blizzard, humor, Modern PhilosopherAs you can see from these photos, which I stupidly took while crossing the bridge by walking in traffic, the sidewalks are packed with snow.

The snow was several feet high, so it’s not like I could’ve even made an attempt to use the sidewalk.

I crossed that bridge in my fastest time ever, and I was lucky that 10:30 on a Thursday morning is a slow time for traffic on the bridge.

Filing my taxes went well.  They took me right in, which is a first.  I’ve always had to wait at least an hour, which I don’t mind since it’s free and I get to spend it in a beautiful library filled with books written by my neighbor, Stephen King.

I was greatly amused by the septuagenarian volunteer who processed my forms.  He kept cursing whenever he made a mistake, but I don’t think he realized he was doing it loud enough for me to hear.  It made me chuckle.

I’m getting a nice refund, and I made it back across the bridge.  When I got home, I discovered the city plow had cleared my street again, so I shoveled the end of the driveway.

Then, because I have no clue how to relax on my day off, I attempted to clear the sidewalk in front of The House on the Hill.  At this point, the snow is at least four feet deep because Mark’s snowblower sent all the snow from the end of my driveway onto the sidewalk.

blizzard, snow, how not to spend a day off, Maine, humor, Modern PhilosopherOkay.  Not a great idea.  I made maybe a foot and a half of progress before I gave up.

Still a glutton for punishment, I decided to clear the giant icicles hanging from the roof over my back door.  You can see the door and the icicles at the very top center of this photo.  What you can’t see is that the snow in my backyard is up to my chest because I haven’t shoveled and Mark’s snowblower moved the snow from my driveway into the backyard.

I ended up with snow in my boots and up my pants leg.  My socks were soaked.  My lungs were burning from all the effort.  But it was worth it because I got those damn icicles.

After I picked up the car, it was time to take Luna to the vet.  This is always a nightmare because she hates the vet, and she knows to hide under my bed whenever she wants to avoid capture.

I managed to get her into her carrier after she pulled one daring escape, and got her to the vet without incident.

Here are some photos of Luna, who hates going to the vet, waiting for the vet to come into the room for her appointment…

taking the cat to the vet, Luna, pets, kitty, Brewer Vet Clinic, humor, Modern PhilosopherYes, she jumped up onto the shelf and made herself at home.

pets, cats, vet, Brewer Vet Clinic, humor, Modern PhilosopherSure, Daddy, I’ll pose for a photo.  I don’t mind one bit.  It’s nice here.

Luna, cats, pets, going to the vet, adorable cat photos, humor, Modern PhilosopherWhy do you always get so stressed about having to take me to the vet, Daddy?

Luna and I finally made it home around 6:15, which is later than I usually get home from work.  My day off, which I am told by my coworkers is meant to be relaxing, was busier than any day I’ve had at work this week.

I’m home now.  My kitties are safe.  The car is fixed.  I’m getting a refund.  The driveway is shoveled.  The icicles are gone.  There’s no snow in the forecast for the next week.

Maybe I can relax this weekend…

You should follow me on my blog and on Pinterest, and perhaps give me some tips on how to properly enjoy a day off!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to We’ll Cross That Bridge When They Plow It

  1. Lisa Orchard says:

    Your kitty, Luna looks like my kitty, Lily! And their names both start with L. Coincidence? I think not! 😉

  2. Louise says:

    Ha ha ha sounds like every body else’s days off. At least you didn’t get run over on the bridge or fall around the house. What happened to the books you were going to read?

  3. Ocean Bream says:

    Your Luna is absolutely adorable. I want to squish her! 🙂

  4. Lutheranliar says:

    Heart the title. Almost as much as I heart your cat.

  5. The Hook says:

    My Dog, that cat’s cute!

Leave a Reply

