Shovel It Or Let It Melt?

Friday Night Think Tank, philosophy, making things happen, waiting for things to happen, humor, Modern PhilosopherWelcome to the Friday Night Think Tank, Modern Philosophers!

After a long, grueling week, I’m looking forward to relaxing and allowing the Deep Thoughts to flow.

The sun has finally returned after a long disappearance, and temperatures skyrocketed into the 50s today.  For February in Maine, that’s a heat wave!

Last Sunday, we had similar weather.  I went outside in just a sweatshirt to tackle the snow and ice that was piled up in the driveway, on my front lawn, and up on the roof.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, I even pulled out the big guns and used the roof rake.

I was dripping with sweat after two and a half hours of clearing what Snow Miser had left behind, but I knew I had accomplished something major.  The snow was off the roofs of The House on the Hill and the garage, the end of the driveway was no longer coated in ice, and you could actually see some of the sidewalk in front of the house.

Afterwards, several people asked me why I’d even bothered.  The warmer temperatures were going to take care of the work for me, so what was the point of wasting two and a half hours and all that sweat?

Which brings us to this week’s topic:  Would you shovel it, or let it melt?

Friday Night Think Tank, philosophy, humor, deep thoughts, Modern PhilosopherWhile this might not seem like the most challenging philosophical question, try to look at it as a deeper metaphor, Modern Philosophers.

Are you the type of person who just sits around and waits for things to happen?  Or are you proactive and go out to set things in motion?

I like to think that I grabbed my shovel and went out to take advantage of the warmer weather because I’m tired of being a prisoner of winter.  I hate worrying if the roof is going to leak because of all the snow piled on it.  I don’t want to freak out because there’s snow on the roads.

So I went out there, and with the warmer weather lending me a hand, showed the elements who was boss.  I was no longer going to be a prisoner of my Post Traumatic Snow Disorder.  I chose to be a man of action, rather than a man who has to react to whatever the hell life throws at him.

Sure, maybe I was being a tad reactionary.  Perhaps my quirks and phobias played a part in pushing me to act, but I don’t see where that’s a bad thing.  I’ve had the roof leak before because I didn’t clear the snow.  I’ve been unable to get my car up the driveway because it was too icy.

I learned from my mistakes and now I’m getting out in front of things rather than sitting back and waiting for life to dictate what I need to do.

choosing to be proactive, winter in Maine, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherSo I’m all for shoveling.  I used to be solidly in the “Let It Melt” fold, but that did not turn out well for me at all.  Hand me a shovel, and get the hell out of my way.

I’m hoping this sort of thinking spills over into other parts of my life.  It would be a shame to act this way only when it came to snow removal.

What about you, Modern Philosophers?  Do you shovel or let it melt?

I’m looking forward to your joining me in the Think Tank to share your Deep Thoughts!

A true Modern Philosopher would follow me on my blog and on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Shovel It Or Let It Melt?

  1. I would shovel if it meant stopping a leak. I generally avoid work, and sometimes that means working some so you don’t have to work tons. It’s just smart laziness. Haha!

  2. Andrew says:

    I’d have shoveled too, if not to just get outside into warmer temperatures, definitely to get out of the house. I think we’re going to miss snow in Pennsylvania this year, it got up to 76 today. This just isn’t normal weather for February.

  3. Blowtorch. I’d blowtorch it. Probably puts me in the ‘let it melt’ camp, only faster… Of course, where I live there isn’t any snow, even in winter, so it’s entirely theoretical on my part. But I have a friend here who came originally from Brattleboro, Vermont, so that might count for something…

  4. ksbeth says:

    i’m all about the melt

  5. Hell, I’d let it melt too and just hoped I’d die in my sleep. Screw the roof and for that matter screw everyone else. So there. ~~dru~~

  6. umashankar says:

    In the middle of my life, I tend to be a fence-sitter. I could have shovelled it like a slave or might have let it turn into water and vapour. Who knows, Modern Philosopher?

  7. Gail Kaufman says:

    I let it melt and took advantage of the nice weather by getting back to my two-mile walks, about two months ahead of schedule since I usually start in the spring.
    As for your metaphor, keep up the action-oriented mindset, but also remember that sometimes we just have to let nature take its course.

  8. niasunset says:

    I would have shoveled too… but sometimes, there are things/events, you should leave them to melt… philosophically. Thank you, Love, nia

  9. Louise says:

    Shovel cos your working on regaining that 6 pack for those spring dates you going to be ‘ snowed'(lol) under w. 😋

  10. I don’t shovel snow! But if I did I would have shoved the walk way and to prevent the leak. I do things now but if later it turns out I didn’t need to I get a little disappointed I did that task for nothing. My to do list is never ending.

  11. I love usuing my snowblower. POWER!!!! Is my Nietzsche showing?

Leave a Reply

