Was The Best Picture Oscar Gaffe My Fault?

Oscars, The Academy Awards, Best Picture, Oscar Fail, La La Land, Moonlight, Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway, Hollywood, humor, Modern PhilosopherI want to apologize for any part I might have played in last night’s big screw up at the Oscars, Modern Philosophers.

As you might have heard, La La Land was erroneously announced as the winner for Best Picture.

After some epic confusion, broadcast live around the globe, Moonlight was finally and correctly declared the recipient of the night’s most prestigious honor.

Sure, it might look like the gaffe was the fault of some combination of Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway and the folks from PricewaterhouseCoopers, but I know better.

You see, I complained on Sunday that I had lost interest in the Oscars.  Academy Awards Sunday used to be like the Super Bowl for me.  I’d be excited all day as I counted down until the show, I’d make an amazing spread of Oscar snacks, and I’d stay up way past my bedtime to watch each and every gold statue be awarded.

This year, however, I decided that I was going to bed early.  I hadn’t seen any of the movies nominated for Best Picture, so I really had no interest in finding out who won.

I did want to catch Jimmy Kimmel’s opening monologue, though, since I’m in the monologue joke writing myself, and it did not disappoint.  Since that went so well, I decided to stay up to watch the first Oscar of the night be awarded.

After that, however, it was off to bed for me.

Oscars, The Academy Awards, Best Picture, Oscar Fail, La La Land, Moonlight, Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway, Hollywood, humor, Modern PhilosopherSure, I did ask Google to update me on the winners as I slowly drifted off the sleep, but I was in Dream Land, which is nowhere near La La Land, well before the ceremony was even halfway done.

When I woke up this morning, I immediately asked Google who had won Best Picture.  When the know it all woman’s voice told me it was Moonlight, I was stunned.  I’d heard that La La Land was a heavy favorite, so I next wondered if that flick had choked and gone home empty handed.

It was only when I Googled what Oscars La La Land has won that I discovered all the exciting videos and articles about the bungled announcement.

I couldn’t believe it.  They had gone with the twist ending!

I love unexpected twists, and often write them into my screenplays.  The Oscars caught us all off guard, messed with our heads, and I totally missed it.

Oscars, The Academy Awards, Best Picture, Oscar Fail, La La Land, Moonlight, Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway, Hollywood, humor, Modern PhilosopherI was so upset.  And felt so guilty.

Clearly, the surprise twist was a message to me from The Academy.  If I give up on the awards I love so much, they will go out of their way to make me regret it.

I’m pissed that I missed seeing that epic snafu live.  Greatest moment in Academy Awards history, and I slept through it.

I have learned my lesson, and will watch the entire ceremony next year.

I’m just so sorry that the people involved with La La Land and Moonlight had to be mind@#$%^& like that just to teach me a lesson.

I hope I can be forgiven.  I really was just tired and didn’t see any reason to stay up late.

Lesson learned.

Congratulations, Moonlight!  Congratulations to all the Oscar winners.

Oscars, The Academy Awards, Best Picture, Oscar Fail, La La Land, Moonlight, Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway, Hollywood, humor, Modern PhilosopherI promise to do my part to make sure we don’t have a repeat of this confusion next year, but someone really needs to talk to those accountants.  I mean, they only had one job to do.

Now that I think about it, is there any chance PricewaterhouseCoopers was responsible for tabulating the results from the past Presidential Election?  If so, someone definitely needs to make sure the correct results were announced on Election Day!

For the record, you’re all winners in my book!

Can you forgive me enough to follow me on my blog and on Pinterest?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Was The Best Picture Oscar Gaffe My Fault?

  1. Louise says:

    Yes that will teach you. .lol

  2. Gail Kaufman says:

    Don’t blame yourself, Austin. Maybe Russia was behind it.

  3. sizzlesue15 says:

    Hi Austin, I agree I don’t watch the Oscars now and it used to be high ratings in Australia where I live. It really lost it’s appeal but you can be sure the gaffe was on the news channels for 24 hours afterwards! Stopping by from Blog Share Love L)

  4. I’m so glad you stepped up and owned it. If only more people did that with Oscar gaffes! ;-)))))

  5. Glad to know who was responsible for this tragic mistake, Austin. I was so upset this year through the first 3 quarters of the super bowl I almost went to bed, just to avoid what I thought was the inevitable whipping my beloved Patriots were going to endure. I am so thankful I hung in there and saw the historic come-from-behind win of epic proportions! This is the closest I can come to understanding what you must be going through. I never watch the Oscars but maybe after this year I need to consider it…..

  6. Mandi says:

    Darn you, Austin! You must learn to use your incredible powers of yours carefully!

  7. Better luck next year? LOL! 🙂

  8. I don’t know you had kids (aka the reason we stop going to see movies.) if I blame you for the oscars will you thank me for the Super Bowl?

  9. My first time to watch the Oscars was for my cinema class I took in college. We had to watch and study the nominees, then write essays on how we feel the oscars would turn out, then more essays on why the oscars came out the way it did. It was fun, truly, I love writing essays…I guess that’s why we blog, right? I made a vow to myself that I would do this every year after!

    It’s been more years than I care to share, but have yet to actually participate in the Oscars hoop-lah since, so I empathize with you here. 😉

  10. lindahobden says:

    I don’t watch the Oscars but the “gaffe” was on the morning news in the UK. It was definitely a cringeworthy moment! I hadn’t watched either film so I don’t know which movie deserved the accolade more. It has made me decide I would like to see both films – so the gaffe may have been a blessing in disguise as I wonder how many other people will dig out both films now to make up their own minds! 😊

  11. Silly Mummy says:

    When I heard about this mix up, my first thought was ‘what the hell has Austin done?!’ I knew you’s be involved! 😉 I didn’t watch any of the Oscars and just read about all of this. I did see someone say that she literally went to bed as soon as she’d seen the best picture announced (the first announcement of La La Land), thinking she’d seen everything of significance, and was really confused when she got up and turned on the news.

  12. Thrifty Guardian says:

    I’ve never watched the Oscars and I couldn’t even bring myself to watch the screw up on replay – so cringeworthy!! Eeks.

Leave a Reply

