Space Explorer, Time Traveler, or Jedi Knight?

Friday Night Think Tank, philosophy, humor, space travel, time travel, Jedi Knights, Star Wars, aliens, Modern PhilosopherWelcome to The Friday Night Think Tank, Modern Philosophers!

It has been a very long week, both literally and figuratively, as I worked over 50 hours between the desk job and The Nite Show.  I didn’t sleep well due to some really freaky dreams, so I’m pretty exhausted right now.

And that’s why tonight’s philosophical exercise needs to be light and fun.  We can still bust out the Deep Thoughts, but they just might be from the shallow end of the pool.  This week’s topic is meant to get your creative juices flowing, so please take the time to explain your answer.

As always, there will be snacks and beverages available, courtesy of the interns.

Who’s ready to dive Deep Thought first into the Friday Night Think Tank?

This week’s topic: You have three options for spending your weekend, but can choose only one.  Do you hitch a ride on a Spaceship with a group of friendly Aliens who will take you anyplace in the universe you want to explore?  Do you borrow Doc Brown’s DeLorean and Time Travel to the destination(s) of your choice?  Do you spend it on Earth, in the present day, with all the powers of a Jedi Knight at your disposal (light saber included)?

Friday Night Think Tank, philosophy, humor, space travel, time travel, Jedi Knights, Star Wars, aliens, Modern PhilosopherIsn’t this a choice that’s almost impossible to make, Modern Philosophers?  I’d want to do all three things on the list, and for far longer than a single weekend, but that is not an option.

Based on the main Canva that I created for this post, it would seem that I’ve searched my feelings, and I’m leaning towards a Jedi’s journey.

That makes perfect sense given my love of Star Wars and even deeper love of Daisy Ridley.  Lately, I’ve felt like I need to put my mind to better use and what better way is there to do that than by using the Force?

Of course, I’ve always wanted my own lightsaber.  Imagine the fun I could have with that elegant weapon for a more civilized age!  Hell, I’d give anything for the chance to use it to get rid of the last of the snow around The House on the Hill.

As much as I’d love to unleash my inner Jedi, which has been dying to explode out of me for almost four decades, I am not going to pick this option.

Being limited to only a weekend would be torture.  It’s just not enough time to become one with the Force, and it would crush me to have to surrender that power on Sunday night.

Space travel has always been high on my bucket list.  I’d relish the chance to exchange Deep Thoughts with our Alien friends in Deep Space, but again, that weekend time constraint is really getting to me.

Friday Night Think Tank, philosophy, humor, space travel, time travel, Jedi Knights, Star Wars, aliens, Modern PhilosopherNo matter how fast that spacecraft travels, one weekend isn’t enough to visit every place I’d want to see in the way out there.

So that leaves Time Travel.  Yes, please!

I’ve been giving it a lot of Deep Thought lately, Modern Philosophers, and there are so many people who I miss that I’d like to see again.

There are also several key moments in my life I’d like to go back any relive.

I know for certain I would want to change the outcome of one such moment, and hope that it sets up a better future for me.

The other times that I’d visit are ones that I’d simply like to experience again, with no desire whatsoever to change anything.  I’m not going to share what those moments are, but I would make sure to travel to all of them over the course of the weekend.

I do not wish to visit the future or any time before I existed.  Even with a Time Machine, time is limited, so I would use it efficiently and to the best of my advantage.

So what about you, Modern Philosophers?  Tell me all about your choice…

Don’t forget to follow me on my blog and on Pinterest when you’re done with your Deep Thoughts on this one!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Space Explorer, Time Traveler, or Jedi Knight?

  1. I have no interest in revisiting the past or knowing the future – I prefer to accept the Right Now. That Jedi power thing is so tempting…but man I’d hate to give it up after only a weekend! Imagine what a cool life if would be with The Force at my disposal! I think I’d have to go with the Jedi power. Although, I’m working on a story that involves space, so…that travel option could be good for research.
    Still, Jedi Power.

  2. April Munday says:

    I’ve wanted to see the universe since Dr Who started, but you’re right, one weekend isn’t enough. I’d take up Doc Brown’s offer, assuming he could take me as far back as the fourteenth century. I’d love to see it first hand and a weekend is just long enough in case it turns out not to be very much fun.

  3. Phil Taylor says:

    I’m voting aliens 👽 on this one. The others involve stay on Earth. I’ve seen what Earth has to offer. I want to see what the rest of the universe has to show me.

  4. clairerwong says:

    I’d have to go with time travel. At university I studied a couple of languages that no one speaks anymore so I’d go back a couple of thousand years and make use of my degree at last! Besides, if I had a light saber, I know I’d accidentally chop my own arm off in the first three minutes.

    • Austin says:

      Claire, your answer made me laugh out loud. Since we’re both time traveling, maybe we could meet up at some point? I think it would be fun to hang out with you. 🙂

  5. I choose option 3 but instead of explaning, I’m just gonna partake of the refreshments. THANX sensei. ~~dru~~

  6. The Hook says:

    I’m in my forties – and they’re almost over – so Time Traveler for sure.
    I’m all about the nostalgia these days,

  7. Louise says:

    Glad you made it through such a full week. Hmmm choices eh! The light sabre would be fun and would do away w our need for defence forces etc, not sure if i do or don’t want to go back, a weekend not long enough. So i reckon the aliens. It would be nice to see earth from different place. Salso would like to witness planet eclipses from up close.

Leave a Reply

