What If Life Just Sucks?

life is hard, dealing with stress, trying to stay positive, reality check, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherI was flipping through the radio stations on the drive to work this morning, Modern Philosophers, when I came across the song “Don’t Worry, Be Happy”.

Something about the tune rubbed me the wrong way, so I turned off the radio and then flipped it the bird for some reason that I didn’t understand at the time.

Over the course of the day, however, I realized that being positive hasn’t been so easy for me lately.  That would explain why I gave poor Bobby McFerrin the finger.

Sorry, Roberto.  My bad.

Some of you might recall that around this time last year, I started to see a therapist at the urging of The Sweet Irish Girl.  We were broken up at the time, and I was eager to win back her heart, so I agreed to give therapy a shot.

Trust me, I know I’m not perfect, but it’s never been easy for me to open up to anyone.  I was raised to believe that talking to a stranger about my problems was a sign of weakness.  It was also better to bottle up those emotions and never, ever allow them to escape.

Talking to the therapist definitely helped.  I began to take a much more positive approach to life, and I won back the heart of the woman I loved.

Eventually, therapy came back to bite me, of course, when I tried to use coping skills I’d learned in my sessions to defuse a tense situation with The Sweet Irish Girl.  Rather than making it better, it caused the problem to escalate, and she decided to stay on her side of the ocean and never speak to me again.

My therapist swore up and down that the approach she’d taught me should have worked, but I’m sitting here alone and bitter as proof that it did not.

life is hard, dealing with stress, trying to stay positive, reality check, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherWhat’s that saying about insanity?  It’s something along the lines of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different outcome.

Well, I wake up every morning expecting to have a good day, finally meet that special someone, find a way to work full time as a writer, and discover a Snapple dispenser in my living room.

None of that $%^& ever happens, though, which leads me to conclude that not only am I insane, but life also sucks.

Seriously, I have tried to remain upbeat.  I have looked for the silver lining in every situation.  I have declared my glass to be half full.  I have adhered to the philosophy that while life might not be good at the moment, it is definitely getting better.

Then this morning, I’m flipping off a song that’s encouraging me to remain positive.

I’ve done the dark clouds.  I’ve known doom and gloom.  I’ve spent the weekend collecting all the half empty glasses I’ve left in my wake.

So let me ask you this, Modern Philosophers: When does life become good?

life is hard, dealing with stress, trying to stay positive, reality check, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherAs I’m writing this, I’m listening to my poor kitty struggling with her stuffy nose.  After almost three weeks of her being perfectly fine, she’s suddenly back to being unable to breathe through her nose, and won’t go near her food because she can’t smell it.

And I’m supposed to believe life is good?

Go sell your crazy somewhere else.  I’m too pissed off at the world to deal with any solicitors right now.  Trust me, it’s for your own good…

Maybe it would improve my outlook if you were to follow me on my blog and on Pinterest.  Can’t hurt to give it a try, right?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to What If Life Just Sucks?

  1. I think Einstein also said (or words to this effect) Life SUCKS but the alternative is suckier!

    Rub tuna oil on your cat’s head and she’ll get some calories by just keeping herself clean. It is no joke that cats will not eat if they can’t smell the food but that doesn’t always mean force feeding ’til they get better. Be creative. ~~dru~~

  2. Since this was posted in the humor section I feel reasonably okay to expound on your words…
    the reason life sucks is because you’re living in Maine. Maine? What’s in Maine for golly sake!
    You need to get up and move to a better location. You know what they say—-location, location, location!
    But I do feel bad for your kitty….we use silver liquid when our kitties get sick.
    jodie
    ps…you don’t know how hard it was for me to read this Austin. I’m that Pollyanna type of girl—maybe I could donate a pint of serotonin to you?? 🙂

    • Austin says:

      I already had a follow up visit for the vet scheduled for tomorrow. The med he gave her three weeks ago clearly did the trick, so we need to figure out how to make it last….

  3. I can relate, Austin. You want everything, maybe just something, to go your way in life. The Cult of Happiness browbeats you into singing “Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy” until a tear rolls down your cheek. Over the past few years, I’ve met several people… all with problems of their own whether it be misplaced trust, alcoholism, poverty, disease, depression, anxiety, and/or loneliness. I don’t tell them to be happy. I give them something to go on whether it be a coloring book birthday present, a pack of fruit cups, or a hand in moving to a new house. Whatever the moment prescribes.

    It’s in those moments of building a relationship with another that gives me hope. Whether that type of solution is something for you is yours to decide. Everyone has free will, but there’s something in those merry band of misfits that keeps me hanging on.

  4. Gail Kaufman says:

    As they say, life sucks, and then you die.

  5. davidprosser says:

    Will you just settle for a follow on your blog?
    Hugs

  6. I loved your rant because dammit, sometimes life does suck. But good days do come back.

  7. And I followed you😊

  8. Louise says:

    yep life does suck at times. even with listening to a whole heap of Motown on the way to work tonight i, like, you ended up giving it the flick…and yes i am reading you at work, on works computer etc, cos dammit life is one big suck. at the mo’ keep it coming.

  9. AthenaC says:

    My only contribution to this –

    Yes, choosing happiness is a thing … in the long run. The short run, however, is a whole ‘nother kettle of fish. You do not have to be happy every day. I’m sorry you’re going through this.

  10. Allie P. says:

    “You can’t always get what you want,” started playing on the radio this morning on my way into the office. I’ve been trying not to take that as a bad omen.

  11. Life sucks…and then you try…which you are…railing against inauthentic joy is the best you can do…and at some inexplicable moment, things shift for the better. In the meantime, your humor is evidence of the resilience that will see you through…

  12. The Hook says:

    Trust me, buddy, I’ve been there and I still am some days.
    But your life rocks!
    You’re HILARIOUS,talented, adored by your friends and at the end of the day, you’re a good man.

  13. It’s cyclical. It’s all perspective. I could tell you to wait out the storm, but you won’t believe me until it’s passed and I don’t want to get punched so…..

  14. It’s March Austin. Trust me when I tell you nothing looks good in March. The truth about life falls somewhere between Bobby f*@#^ing McFerrin and March. April is only slightly better but by June you may feel like life is worth living. That is if it doesn’t rain every day and the black flies don’t drive you mad. I’m sorry. I don’t think I’m helping. Good luck with your attitude.

  15. Louise says:

    so i got busted at work by a wanna be supervisor… he blah blah blahed on about company policy. then i just showed him coupla of your posts. hallelujah another convert. . guess his life does not suck . Anyway night 2 on the company computer, the distribution center is working like clockwork so i don’t have to think too much about how life really does suck at the mo”.. hope luna is getting better. xxx

  16. Lutheranliar says:

    Oh, I do follow you, Dear One. And it’s okay not to be happy. As long as you realize that you make other people happy when they read your musings, even the not-happy ones. Or something.

  17. yougotmel18 says:

    You are right, life does suck and then you die. So might as well do some cool things in between life and death. On another note, that was a wonderful marketing scheme to get followers. Good job! And followed you are.

  18. Life is not consistent, often unpleasant, but if each and every day I make at least one choice that makes me smile or brings me some sense of pleasure (I love coffee with cookies for breakfast), even if it’s a tiny moment, at least I will never live a day without happiness.

  19. I always thought the half full/empty thing was nonsense anyway.
    “Hey Jimmy, c’mon out and play football.”
    “Oh goodie! I gotta finish my milk first.”
    “How much is left?”
    “My glass is half empty!”
    “You’re negative.”
    Life sucks and so do therapists.
    I like your story.

  20. Yeah, it does suck sometimes. My philosophy is to wallow in it until you feel like it doesn’t suck so hard anymore. A better day is usually somewhere around some corner at some point. Until then, just marinate in the misery. LOL!

  21. Pingback: The Week’s End // A Roundup of Important Reads – ZEN AND PI

  22. Oh yeh, I know this feeling…and thanks for writing it…sometimes there’s just too much positive thinking stuff doing the rounds…sometimes we get tired making it work…sometimes life sucks and it feels like it sucks all the time…

  23. Lisa Orchard says:

    LIfe does suck sometimes, but stay strong! You’ll get out of this dark cloud in no time. Work on some writing or read a book. Reading always seems to make me feel better. 🙂

  24. Janice Wald says:

    Hi Austin,
    I thought your line about “the bird” was funny. Then I understood. I am slow this Sunday morning. Morning here in CA.
    I was once with a guy. He was in therapy. His therapist told him I’d never change, so he broke up with me. I’m still mad! People can change. People are always changing. Life is an evolution.
    You have such an engaged community here! 57 comments on this post! Go you! Isn’t therapy quite a diversion from the “garbage” in the day to day? I find it is.
    By the way, I saw you liked my party yesterday. Thanks for coming by my blog. It was great to see you.
    Janice

  25. Life IS good.

    Why hold the poor thing to such specific expectations?

    So maybe this lovely someone hasn’t waltzed up to you and proven an impossibly perfect mate. Maybe a vending machine didn’t sprout through your floor overnight.

    But — look how stunning a shadow that tree casts! And my, isn’t the smile on that elderly lady as she chats with the barista just the sweetest? Even a light conversation with either stranger or friend can charm, if you’re open to it.

    And as for finding work as a writer — well, you’re preaching to the choir here. We all know it’s hard, but some people make it. Takes a lot of fucking perseverance. Patience. Connections help, sure, but you can build those with the first two.

    Yes, life can suck, if you want it to. It can also be amusing. Ironic. Curious. Seeing the same picture from another angle is a change of outlook, like slipping from behind one pair of glasses to another. You don’t have the rose-colored set? Throw yellow over the blue and enjoy green!

    It’s all perception, really.

  26. floridaborne says:

    I can’t follow you twice, and I don’t do pinterest. Winter sucks and so does being alone. Those 2 things can make anyone bitter.

  27. I believe that there are many good and bad things in life… But you’re right and wrong in my opinion… Life sucks but you get to come off many great opportunities as well… So just try to live life to the fullest! Do you agree? Visit my blog! I’m going to write about/wrote about why I want to go to Japan and my trip to London, Scotland and Ireland!!!

Leave a Reply

