Cherish The Odd

relationship souvenirs, action figures, collectibles, nicknacks, philosophy, humor, Friday Night Think Tank, Modern PhilosopherAs you can see from this photo, Modern Philosophers, I keep some interesting items on my desk to help me get through the workday.

Of course, there’s Doc Brown on a hoverboard, and a shout out to Star Wars in the form of my Han Solo bobblehead.  Other items include a Leatherface doll, a Terminator skull, and an Alien from Space Invaders.

Sometimes, when I get extremely caught up in my work, the workday enhancers try to freak me out by gathering together and staring at me until I notice them.  It’s a nice distraction that allows me to stay sane on busy days.

The item in this photo that’s not like the others is the hourglass in the foreground.  However, it’s definitely the most treasured piece in this odd collection.

And the thing is, I didn’t really realize its value until recently when I was training someone at my desk.  As I often do over the course of the day, I absentmindedly reached out and flipped over the hourglass as I was explaining something to my coworker.

She interrupted me to ask why I had turned the hourglass.  She assumed, since I was training her, that I was timing her performance.

I laughed it off and explained that flipping the hourglass was something I did out of habit just to pass the time.  I did it dozens of times a day, often when stuck on a never ending phone call or when dealing with a complicated issue.

relationship souvenirs, action figures, collectibles, nicknacks, philosophy, humor, Friday Night Think Tank, Modern PhilosopherOf course, this made me think back to how the ancient timekeeper came to be a part of the menagerie of collectibles on my desk.

Rachel, aka The Girl Who Went Away, put it on my desk back when we were in the old office.  We used to keep a few board games on my bookshelf to play on lunch breaks.  Rach was fiddling with the hourglass one day and left it on my desk when she finally departed to do some work.

I’m not even sure why she left it, but since it was from her, I kept it there and we both got into the habit of turning it over whenever we were in the office together.

Rachel has been gone for over four years, and I have since moved to a new building, but the hourglass remains in a place of prominence on my desk.  And I fiddle with it everyday.

Maybe it’s because I miss Rachel and it reminds me of her.  Perhaps it’s some sort of security blanket from a happier time in my life.

relationship souvenirs, action figures, collectibles, nicknacks, philosophy, humor, Friday Night Think Tank, Modern PhilosopherWhatever the reason, it’s definitely retained its position because of its connection to someone I once loved with all my heart.

Which brings me to tonight’s topic for The Friday Night Think Tank:  What odd keepsake do you keep around, and what’s the story behind it?

I look forward to your Deep Thoughts on this one.  Don’t worry, I haven’t flipped the hourglass, so you’re not working on a time limit.

If this post has intrigued you, perhaps you could do me the honor of follow me on my blog and on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cherish The Odd

  1. I’ve never given much thought to my collection of random desk objects before but you’ve spurred me on to really ‘look.’ I have a Professor Snape bobblehead, a wand, crystals, a pot mushroom (doubles as a money box!) and a string of zombie ears hanging from my noticeboard (Walking Dead). Haha, I might be a bit weird!

  2. I have a stapler and scotch tape dispenser that give me a great sense of security when I glance over at them. They are there for me in the event that I start falling apart promising to staple or tape me back together again. Oh, and I have a Wonder Woman bobblehead who inspires me to keep going when the going gets tough.

  3. The Hook says:

    I carried a stone my uniform pocket for years after an ex-colleague gave it to me.
    It’s gone now, but it was a nice reminder of a cherished soul.

  4. What odd keepsake do you keep around, and what’s the story behind it?
    Aside from the occasional cat, a stream not an individual, I keep myself sensei, just me.

Leave a Reply

