Snow Miser’s Last Hurrah

Winter Storm Stella, East Coast blizzard, winter in Maine, Snow Miser, humor, Modern PhilosopherDay 165 — I foolishly thought we were done with the worst of Winter.  The snow had melted, temperatures had risen into the 50s, and hope was in the air.

But Snow Miser would never leave without throwing himself one last wild party.  He decided to call this one Winter Storm Stella.  I shoveled for an hour and a half when I got home from work, and it already looks like there’s half a foot of snow out there.

It’s supposed to snow all night with winds strong enough to blow The House on the Hill all the way to Oz.  Clearly, Winter is not over yet.  How could I be so stupid?

At least I was smart enough to load the trunk with rocks last night, Modern Philosophers.  It’s not like I totally forgot how to deal with Winter simply because I willed it to be over.

They let us out of work at 3:00, which was a big help because it’s much safer to drive in a blizzard in the daylight when the roads aren’t as busy with rush hour traffic.

Even though I’m exponentially more comfortable driving in snow than I’ve ever been, instinct always kicks in when I get behind the wheel during a snowstorm.  I found myself whispering aloud prayers the whole drive home, and when I got to my exit on the highway, I realized that I was sitting ramrod straight and clutching the steering wheel as if I wanted to strangle the life out of it.

Once I was off the highway, I willed my body to relax and sent my Post Traumatic Snow Disorder scampering back to its cage in the back of my mind.

Winter Storm Stella, East Coast blizzard, winter in Maine, Snow Miser, humor, Modern PhilosopherWinter Storm Stella, East Coast blizzard, winter in Maine, Snow Miser, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe snowfall predictions have ranged from 8 to 20 inches, so my plan was to just get home safely and figure it out from there.

We don’t have to be to work until 10:00 tomorrow, so that gives me plenty of time to get up and shovel before I have to hit the road.

Hopefully, Snow Miser’s party will be done by then and I won’t have to worry about my stress levels on the drive to work.

Winter Storm Stella, East Coast blizzard, winter in Maine, Snow Miser, humor, Modern PhilosopherWinter Storm Stella, East Coast blizzard, winter in Maine, Snow Miser, humor, Modern PhilosopherI did, however, make the executive decision to shovel the driveway once I got home.  It just made sense to cut into the amount that would be waiting for me when I awaken.

I was out there for an hour and a half, and the snow was falling pretty hard by the time I was done, but I went inside with a sense of accomplishment.  There will be less snow to shovel in the morning, and I’ll probably sleep better tonight because I exhausted myself clearing away Snow Miser’s party favors.

Winter Storm Stella, East Coast blizzard, winter in Maine, Snow Miser, humor, Modern PhilosopherWinter Storm Stella, East Coast blizzard, winter in Maine, Snow Miser, humor, Modern PhilosopherI was also thrilled with myself because I managed to clear the street in front of my house before the city plow could come through and pile all that snow at the end of my driveway.

It’s much easier to move that snow while it’s still light and fluffy in the street.  Once the snow plow gets to it and piles it in the driveway, the molecular composition changes and it becomes more like concrete.

 

While I’m sure there will be a foot of snow waiting in the morning, there’s no reason to let that ruin my evening.

I’m just going to rest my aching muscles, not move an inch from the couch, and watch some mindless television.

Snow Miser can be the wild party animal, but I just want to be the boring guy who stays at home and enjoys a little peace and quiet.

Only 17 days left in March.  I’ve almost survived the 182 Days of Terror!

Before you go back outside to shovel the snow, you should reward yourself for all your hard work by following me on my blog and on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Snow Miser’s Last Hurrah

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m “working”, so my wife has shoveled – even though she hasn’t moved the van all day.
    I got lucky with that one, I’ll tell you…

  2. Ocean Bream says:

    On the bright side…. shovelling snow is good exercise 🙂

  3. ksbeth says:

    ooh – sorry, out like a crazy lion

  4. grannyK says:

    That looks terrible to me! Snow is pretty, but I’m not a fan of driving in it. Stay safe and warm!

  5. Louise says:

    Nice house. Its got hot here… All that shovelling g8 for the ‘gluts’ and ‘guns’u will b able to show off to all the girls in watmer weather..

  6. One last hurrah from Snow Miser? You are so optimistic, Austin. Being a Maine lifer I have no such wide eyed dreams. April is a winter month. ❄️🌬😳

Leave a Reply

