Old Friends And New Laughs On The Nite Show

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, late night TV, life in Maine, writing for TV, humor, Modern PhilosopherToday was a special matinee taping of The Nite Show, Modern Philosophers.

We taped the show earlier than usual because it was a make up date made necessary by a previous blizzard.  And guess what happened yesterday?

Winter Storm Stella pummeled Maine with over a foot of snow.  Since we didn’t want another taping canceled, The Nite Show Team shoveled a path from Danny’s home to The Gracie Theatre so that the show could go on.

There is no truth to the rumor that Saturday Night Live, The Nite Show’s main competition for ratings dominance, had anything to do with the recent weather issues, but can you really trust New Yorkers?

The running theme for this taping was bringing back old friends and frequent guests to help celebrate the 2oth anniversary of the show’s first episode.

Today’s guests were Mike Dow, Rick Tyler, Freddie Stone, and Maine Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap.  These men have all appeared multiple times on The Nite Show in its various incarnations.

Danny asked me to be Cue Card Guy today, so I wasn’t able to take as many photos as usual, but the ones I did take were mostly from new new perspective onstage.

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, late night TV, life in Maine, writing for TV, humor, Modern PhilosopherSpeaking of old friends, my being on Cue Card duty meant that Katie was the Floor Manager.  This is the third time we’ve teamed up in this capacity, and we make a dynamic duo.

Basically, Katie takes me by the arm and leads me over to the proper camera and then nudges me if I ever walk into a shot or maybe, possibly hold the cue cards in front of the lens (oops!).

While I do enjoy being up on stage and part of the action, I’ll admit that I get a little nervous that I’m going to drop the cards, not turn them in time, or wander off the edge of the stage.

Having Katie there makes me much more confident.

As always, she is shy around the camera, so I had to snap this shot when she was busy talking to the control room.  Between shows, I asked Katie if she would be interested in working with me if one of my projects movesforward with the network.

I was very excited when she told me she would be.

As I mentioned earlier, Mike Dow was one of the guests.  Mike is a deejay with a morning show on one of the local radio stations.  He is also a very nice guy, a good friend of Danny’s and the person pretty much responsible for my getting my gig on The Nite Show.

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, late night TV, life in Maine, writing for TV, humor, Modern PhilosopherWe got to catch up between shows and he was wearing an awesome Blues Brothers tie.  I wish I had taken a photo, but I was so busy I didn’t think of it.

A few years ago, Mike had me on his radio show to plug The Retirement Party.  The movie had just finished filming, and a mutual friend arranged for me to go on the show to talk about the flick in anticipation of its release.

Mike also wrote a wonderful article about me and the movie for The Maine Edge, and then told his friend Danny about the local screenwriter who had sold a screenplay about his life that had been made into a feature film.

That led to Danny’s inviting me to be a guest on The Nite Show, which is how I got to know Danny and was able to eventually become a member of the writing team.

I owe Mike big time and hopefully, I can pay him back someday by writing a cameo for him into one of my screenplays.

Even though the crowd was smaller than usual because of the afternoon taping, they were still very lively and enthusiastic.

Except, of course, for that time Danny told one of my jokes and it completely bombed.  No reaction at all.

My theory is that they didn’t hear the joke correctly because it was goofy and worth at least a giggle or a moan.  Dead silence tells me everyone momentarily went deaf.

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, late night TV, life in Maine, writing for TV, humor, Modern PhilosopherPerhaps more sabotage from the late night competition?

While that one did not go over well, I was thrilled when Danny used two of my more risque jokes.

I do enjoy pushing the envelope at times, and even if I don’t think Danny will use a joke on air, I’ll still submit it just to show him my take on a certain subject.

One of the jokes was in the third show, and I was glancing at the cue cards just before cameras rolled to make sure I knew when the jokes ended so I could flip the card at the right time.

Well, I read this particular joke and said, “Oh my God!” loud enough for Katie to hear.  She was standing right behind me, of course, and she thought something had gone wrong.

I told her I couldn’t believe Danny had chosen this particular joke, and then held out the cue card for her to read it.  She chuckled and made a funny comment.

While I don’t want to tell the jokes until they air, I can say one was about diseases college kids might pick up on Spring Break, and the other was about the naughty bits of a certain Russian leader.

I was so pumped that Danny had taken a chance on the strange sense of humor of a weird kid from Brooklyn that I emailed him as soon as I got home to thank him.

Just one of the many reasons I love being a member of The Nite Show Team!

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, late night TV, life in Maine, writing for TV, humor, Modern PhilosopherThis is a shot from the stage after the taping had ended.  As you can see, Danny likes to stick around to chat with any audience members who wait around to ask him a question.

I also managed to get Katie and her funky boots in another photo.

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, late night TV, life in Maine, writing for TV, humor, Modern PhilosopherI took this photo to give you an idea of Danny’s perspective during a taping.  As you can see, he has a direct line of sight to the band so he can launch projectiles at them whenever he wishes.

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, late night TV, life in Maine, writing for TV, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe Nite Show, Danny Cashman, late night TV, life in Maine, writing for TV, humor, Modern PhilosopherAfter dealing with yet another blizzard, and shoveling snow for hours, it was such a treat to escape into the world of The Nite Show for a few hours.

Once again, I’ll advise you to get a gig writing for a late night TV show.  It is well worth all the time and effort.  Especially when you get to hear the audience roar with laughter at your joke about Putin’s nads.

The Nite Show airs on Saturday nights in Maine.  You can also check out clips on the show’s YouTube channel, like The Nite Show on Facebook, and follow it on Twitter @TheNiteShowME.

Don’t forget, you can also follow me on my blog and on Pinterest.  Heck, the link to follow me on Twitter is even over in the right margin of this post!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Old Friends And New Laughs On The Nite Show

  1. The Hook says:

    I so envy you, man…

  2. ksbeth says:

    great day and it sounds like you may have a thing for katie? )

  3. Louise says:

    oh yeah ask katie out for that date with you and the devil..

  4. Very cool. I feel like I’m one degree separated from famous because I follow you here in the virtual world!

Leave a Reply

