Icy Balls

Winter in Maine, 182 Days of Terror, Snow Miser, Spring, humor, Modern PhilosopherDay 178 —  Enough of this $%@#!  It’s the second week of Spring, and I am driving home in a  bizarre Spring Storm with icy balls slamming against my windshield.

The roads are icy, everyone is driving slowly, and I’ve got the defroster on full blast. 

Where is my sunshine?  Where is my green grass?  Where are my passerby in shorts and sunglasses? 

If I don’t get some warm weather soon, I am going to kick Snow Miser in his Icy Balls and see if that encourages him to pack his bags and get the hell out of Maine. 

Seriously, Modern Philosophers, enough is enough.  We had some pretty heavy snow for the drive home Friday night, and there were numerous accidents and reports of cars off the road.

Tonight, I expect the weather to cause even more accidents.

Even though this is Maine, people forget that the 182 Days of Terror do not end until March 31.  They get caught up in the excitement of “Calendar Spring” and start driving like they’re off for a day at the beach.

At least I’m smart enough to take my time when driving in this slop, and know not to take my anger out on the gas pedal.

Truth be told, it’s a bit depressing.  I just want to wake up to sunshine and warmth.  I’m ready to take the plastic off the windows, remove the extra comforter from my bed, put the Winter coat in storage, and use the snow shovel to flip burgers on the grill.

Four more days.

Winter in Maine, 182 Days of Terror, Snow Miser, Spring, humor, Modern PhilosopherSaturday is April 1.

Maine Spring will officially begin.  Opening Day of the Baseball Season is on Sunday.  Life will be good again.

Just four more days.

I’m keeping this one short because the weather makes me miserable and I don’t want my grumbly attitude to infect you via the internet.

I’m going to try to block out the sound of icy balls beating against my windows and have a relaxing evening.

Hope things are a little more like Spring wherever you’re reading this.  Feel free to fill the comments section with photos that will put me in a Spring State of Mind…

Don’t forget to follow me on my blog and on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Icy Balls

  1. Gastradamus says:

    We love your blog at Gastradamus. Your humor is solid and we would love your feedback. When you have the time, please check out some of our stories and let us know what you think. If you comment and share your thoughts. I will be more than happy to promote your site through the new hot trending blog they call Gastradamus

  2. Our snow is finally melting (upstate New York) will try to send some warmth your way. 186 days of terror, I like that…

  3. This just made me giggle. And I understand how you feel wanting spring!

  4. davidprosser says:

    Just four more days and it won’t be Icy Balls you hear, it’ll be baseballs cracking against wood. I fully expect a new weather forecast from you that says Maine remembered to order in the nice Spring weather to start then.
    Hugs

  5. April Munday says:

    Yesterday I sat out in one of the garden chairs and fell asleep in the sun. Spring can be wonderful. I hope yours arrives soon.

  6. The Hook says:

    That title actually hurts!

Leave a Reply

