20 Years Of Nite Show Fun

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherSorry that there’s been nothing new on the blog for the last few days, Modern Philosophers, but I was busy writing monologue jokes for tonight’s historic taping of The Nite Show with Danny Cashman.

Was the taping historic because this was the third consecutive one held on a day that it snowed?  Hardly.  This is Maine, after all, and it really never stops snowing.

No, tonight was historic because The Nite Show celebrated the 20th anniversary of its first telecast.  The show hasn’t been on for twenty years, but the first incarnation of The Nite Show aired twenty years ago this month.

What an amazing accomplishment for a local TV show that was conceived and produced by a college kid, who tonight admitted he had no idea what he was doing.

Luckily, twenty years later, Danny Cashman has become well versed in the art of producing a late night talk show.  The Nite Show is an amazing, hilarious, entertaining, and odd program, and I am extremely proud to be a part of the team.

Tonight’s taping was electric.  There was a large, loud, active audience and some pretty awesome guests.

I peeked in on sound check just in time to watch a group called Broadway Rocks Bangor rock Green Day’s 21 Guns.  They also saved a rousing rendition of a Queen classic for the broadcast.  Here’s a pic of the calm before the rock n roll storm…

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherMaine broadcasting icon George Hale, seen dancing his way on stage in the first photo, was also a guest.

My favorite story about George Hale is one I’m sure he won’t even recall.  I was a guest on his radio show to promote my movie, The Retirement Party.  Rachel, aka The Girl Who Moved Away, was with me in the studio.

George asked me questions about the movie and my screenplay, but he was really much more interested in hitting on Rachel, who was flattered given how famous he is in Maine.

I don’t blame George for working his charm on her.  Rachel was gorgeous and tan, and I was just a pale, goofy guy with a Brooklyn accent and a movie about my break up with the woman I dated before Rachel.

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherAs seen in this photo, Danny was in a great mood and came out hurling souvenirs into the audience when he came out to greet the crowd.

Despite the early rumors, the souvenirs were not snowballs hastily made in the parking lot right before he walked onstage.

I was delighted that Danny used several of my monologue jokes tonight, but I was more focused on the history of the night than on my personal success.

Danny decided to host his own TV show and made it happen.  Twenty years later, The Nite Show airs on several networks across Maine, regularly beats Saturday Night Live in the ratings, and has moved from a makeshift stage to a gorgeous home at The Gracie Theatre.

Every time I lament that my writing career hasn’t gone in the direction I’ve hoped, I think about how Danny just turned his dream into a reality.

Because of what Danny’s done, I’ll never give up on being a full time writer.  He’s shown me that you can have what you want if you are willing to take a few chances.

Thanks, Danny, not only for letting me be a part of The Nite Show team, but for also giving me the inspiration I need to never accept that I’ll be a desk jockey for the rest of my life.

Like I said, it was a great night, and I took a lot of photos.  I’d like to share some more of my favorites with you…

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherBrian Nadeau and The Nite Show Band.  They are the perfect musical foil to Danny’s humor.  Once again, they kept the audience entertained, and received several ovations over the course of the evening.  Great job, guys!

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherA big shout out and round of applause to the hardworking NESCOM crew.  These college kids make The Nite Show look just as good as the shows Fallon and Colbert produce.

They can never get enough praise in my opinion, and I want to congratulate them once again on another job well done.

When you think about it, many of the crew members weren’t even born yet when the first episode of The Nite Show hit the air.  Crazy, right?

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherThis was the film school nerd in me.  I had to take a cool artsy, fartsy shot of the camera’s view of the set between shows.

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherDanny after kicking a field goal to start the first show of the night.  Okay, so maybe he didn’t actually kick a football, but I’m tired and thought that was wittier than writing that Danny was literally kicking of the show in this photo.

As you can see, the writers get great seats.  I’m in the second row, and that’s the head of fellow writer Dave in his usual seat in the front row.  He got the Uecker tickets…

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherShow three was delayed after they twice ran the opening credits, did the announcer intros, but Danny never emerged from behind the doors to do the monologue.

You’d think after 20 years, the guy would remember his cue!

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherJust a couple of photos that I really liked.  I’m not sure if they changed the lighting for tonight’s taping, but the colors seemed to be more festive than usual.

Twenty years after taping the first show on a tiny stage using a white bed sheet as a background, The Nite Show has graduated to this gorgeous set.

Now that’s progress!

The Nite Show, Danny Cashman, writing for television, Maine, comedy, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe obligatory geeky writer selfie.  It’s hard to tell, but my mind is racing with Deep Thoughts about how I can learn from Danny to have even a fraction of his success.

Congratulations, Danny.  Your dream project, the little show with the tiny audience that would go on to grow big and strong, has turned twenty.  You must be so proud!

Great job.  Hope The Nite Show is around for another twenty years!

The Nite Show airs on Saturday in Maine.  Even if you can’t watch the show, you can like its Facebook page, check out clips on its YouTube channel, and follow it on Twitter @TheNiteShowME.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 20 Years Of Nite Show Fun

  1. ksbeth says:

    congrats to danny, the show, and to you, for being an important part of it –

  2. I always enjoy your Facebook updates about it! Congrats!

  3. adamjasonp says:

    Congratulations to twenty years of The Nite Show, lasting as long as it has— off and on, opening the door to you and other writers… and giving me something remarkable to watch on Saturday nights. 🙂

Leave a Reply

