Your Mental Great Escape

philosophy, mental escape, coping skills, stress, mental health, Friday Night Think Tank, Modern PhilosopherI haven’t been this happy to greet Friday night’s arrival in quite some time, Modern Philosophers.

To call this the Week From Hell would not only be selling it short, but would probably also deeply offend my regular Sunday house guest.

Let’s just say I’m glad this week is over, and I’m ready to head out to the Think Tank to get my Deep Thoughts on.

Philosophy is one of the coping skills I turn to when I need to chase away the dark clouds and breathe easy again.

Eating whoopie pies is another.  So if you’re on your way here to join the fun, please bring whoopie pies!

This week’s topic: I tried something new today when I was super stressed.  I closed my eyes and imagined a place to which I’d escape in order to feel safe and at peace.  Close your eyes and do the same.  Where does your mind take you on your great escape?

I suppose this could actually be a tried and true form of meditation, but I’ve never heard of it before, so it was unique to me.

philosophy, mental escape, coping skills, stress, mental health, Friday Night Think Tank, Modern PhilosopherAfter the Stage 5 Stress Storm of a week I’ve had, I was willing to give anything a shot, and this seemed as likely to reduce stress levels as anything else.

So I found a quiet spot while on my lunch break and closed my eyes.  I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised to discover where my mind transported me.

Yankee Stadium.

It totally makes sense, though.  I associate the House That Ruth Built only with fond memories.

The very first game I ever attended at Yankee Stadium was with my Dad.  It might also have been the only time we went to see my favorite team together, but I always associate the Bronx Shrine with Dear Old Dad.  We saw the Yanks play the White Sox that day, and I got a free rain jacket with the price of admission.

Then, of course, there is one of the greatest moments of my young life:  Being at Game 6 of the 1977 World Series when Reggie Jackson slammed home runs against the Dodgers on three consecutive pitches.

I can still hear the chants of REG-GIE! REG-GIE! in my head if I close my eyes and let my mind slip away to forty years ago.

I’ll never forget what it was like to watch thousands of people storm the sacred field to celebrate the Yankees’ first World Series Championship during my lifetime.  Or how exciting the train ride home was as everyone talked about the big game and what it meant for the Yankees to be number one again.

philosophy, mental escape, coping skills, stress, mental health, Friday Night Think Tank, Modern PhilosopherI’ll always associate Yankee Stadium with gorgeous summer days, great times with dear friends, and some very happy moments with J before she became my ex-wife.

I haven’t been to the new Stadium, and I might I never go.  Not because I don’t want to see it, but because I don’t want to risk pushing out any of the memories of the one that means so much to me.

So now we know that Yankee Stadium is my Mental Great Escape.  What’s yours?

Before you escape, don’t forget to follow me on my blog and on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Your Mental Great Escape

  1. Just posted something that features a pic of me at Fenway. I’d like to get to Yankee stadium one day just to see it. Bloggers day at the park?

  2. Today I spent ten minutes sitting in the dark and just repeated, “Thank you for your blessings.” Gratitude is also a good stress reliever.

  3. Tori Hebert says:

    Enjoyed reading this! I grew up in Houston when the Astros were great and the Texans not so much. My dad and I were really in to baseball. I remember being the go-to girl for everything MLB. Great memories.

    I also had a Great Escape this afternoon. I volunteered for cleaning and repairing at our local Children’s Museum. I remember going there with my grandpa. He’s been going for 13 years, and it was probably a good 4 years before that when we last visited. I loved every minute of reminiscing all the fun I had, and thinking about all the fun children have now.

  4. Great pic from “The Great Escape.” Great movie, incredible cast of Hollywood legends, and all die in the end. It sucks but that is reality.

    Stress relief? I am a certified DISC Personality Profile trainer. People with different personalities destress differently. I am a combination of personality types but mainly “golden retriever” – very loyal, good worker, get along with people and help others. Golden retrievers favorite destressing technique: sleep. So true. Give me a hammock in the shade after a hard day and boom: I’m asleep in seconds. Your “lion”/type A personalities destress by exercising/burning off steam. Your “otter” types go hang out with friends because they are people persons. Your “beaver” people go crunch numbers in their studies to destress. Leading DISC trainings was eye-opening for me and helped me understand people to a much greater degree. Any group would benefit from the training as well as team-building exercises, communication strategies, conflict resolution, cross-cultural communication (important these days with all of the “terrible” immigrants in our country).

    Best destresser: go to Your loving Creator who not only made you but sustains you and wants to hear from you about your crap-filled day. Read the Psalms. David et al. were never shy about voicing their struggles and frustrations to God. Why should we be any different?

  5. ksbeth says:

    movies and meditation.

  6. SD Gates says:

    My garden. It seems as if everyone has had a horrible week. Hope your weekend is calm, stress-free and enjoyable!!!!

  7. The Hook says:

    You have no idea how much I needed this, buddy.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

