Surviving Monday

Monday, life hacks, coping skills, humor, Modern PhilosopherRecent studies show, Modern Philosophers, that Monday is the least favorite day of the week.

By “recent studies”, I, of course, mean a quick show of hands by all the interns and blog groupies hanging out at The House on the Hill today.

Regardless of how the data was collected, it’s still scientific fact.  If you don’t believe me, ask the team of scientists I keep on retainer in my basement should questions such as this one ever arise.

Basic logic states that Mondays suck.  So we can sit around and complain about how much we hate this god awful day of the week, or we can do something to make Mondays a bit more tolerable.

That’s where I come in with this highly topical blog post on surviving Mondays…

Pretend it’s Tuesday.  Take the bull by the balls and snatch away all of Monday’s power.  Just act like it’s Tuesday all day, and life will be exponentially less stressful.  Of course, you’ve got to commit to the whole Monday is Tuesday idea, or it won’t work.

This means that when your friendly coworker asks you how your weekend was, you bark back at him: “Quit wasting my time, Chuck!  I already told you all about my weekend yesterday.  Now if you don’t mind, I’ve got to finish my Tuesday reports before the boss hauls my ass off to HR!”

If you can sell him on the idea that it’s Tuesday, you’ve also brightened his day.  Even if you were a little rude to him.

Monday, life hacks, coping skills, humor, Modern PhilosopherTake it one hour at a time.  Everyone knows that the eight hours that make up the Monday workday are longer than any other eight hour stretch during the week.

Trying to stare down those 480 minutes is an imposing task.  But what if you tackle the day one hour at a time?

An hour ain’t no big thing.  Hell, you could make it through pretty much any scenario if you know it only lasts sixty minutes.

Rather than trying to survive one eight hour Monday, approach it like you have to get through eight mini Mondays.  Anything mini is adorable, am I right?  You’ve got this.

Pack a special lunch.  Everyone knows that once you make it to your lunch break, the work day is virtually over and it’s all downhill to 5:00.  So why not make lunch the focus of your day?

If Monday becomes Awesome Lunch Day, you’ve replaced the worst day of the week with one that’s a lot more delicious.  Maybe you pack a special meal.  Perhaps you order out from your favorite place.  Hell, why not just throw all the rules out the window and have ice cream for lunch?  And buy some for Chuck to make up for yelling at him earlier.

Mmmm…this idea sounds so yummy, I can’t wait for it to be next Awesome Lunch Day!

Make after work plans.  I don’t know about you, Modern Philosophers, but the day always seems to fly by for me when I’ve got big plans for the night.  I get so distracted by what awaits me that I barely notice the day passing.

So set up something for Monday night.  Go on a date.  Meet some friends for a drink.  The movies are always dead on Monday nights.  Just do something out of the ordinary that actually makes you excited for Monday to arrive.

Monday, life hacks, coping skills, humor, Modern PhilosopherHave a great show waiting on the DVR.  Not everyone is adventurous and wants to go out on a Monday night.  If that’s the case, make sure you have a favorite show waiting for you at home on the DVR.  That way, you can sit back, relax, and be entertained.  You deserve it.

For me, it’s usually The Walking Dead on the DVR for Monday night TV night.  Now that the season is over, it’s Madam Secretary.  As soon as I finish this blog post, I’m going to pour myself a big glass of milk and watch Tea Leoni very diplomatically save the world.

I hope these ideas help make your Mondays suck a little less.  If they don’t, take some comfort in the fact that Mondays only come around once a week!

There’s more great stuff where this came from.  Don’t forget to follow my blog.  I’m on Pinterest, too…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Surviving Monday

  1. “Hell, you could make it through pretty much any scenario if you know it only lasts sixty minutes.” KIND A LIKE CHURCH FOR ME, WHICH I DON’T DO MORE THAN TWICE A YEAR BUT IT STILL SUCKS! ~~dru~~

  2. Haha, I love these, I will have to save it to share next Monday on Twitter! If you help remind me…because it will be Monday and Monday’s suck for remembering things. 🙂

  3. davidprosser says:

    I’ve retired and yet Monday’s are still there and still as bad.
    Hugs

  4. Great advice, as always! I will certainly be putting this to good use next week. For now, though, I think we have qualified for “I survived Monday” t-shirts. Just a thought.

  5. grannyK says:

    I never know when my Monday is as my work schedule changes all of the time! It actually helps to shake it up like that. It does make planning anything a challenge, though!

Leave a Reply

