Go Away! I’m Reading

reading, alone time, fnding peace, humor, Modern PhilosopherA couple of weeks ago, Modern Philosophers, I was blogging (whining) about how I didn’t seem to have enough time to accomplish everything I wanted to do over the course of a day.

My days have not gotten any longer, nor have I finally completed my time machine, but I have discovered a way to carve out a little time for myself each day.

The weather has been much nicer around these parts lately, which is to say it finally stopped raining, so I’ve forced myself to take advantage of the gorgeous weather once I get home from work.

After amazingly surviving the work day, I return to The House on the Hill and then settle into this basic routine:

Feed the cats.

Burn my work clothes and put on something comfortable.

Douse myself in holy water to kill the demons.

Have dinner.

Go for a walk to get more steps on my tracker will digesting my dinner.

Sit out on the porch, Where I spend some quiet time writing and reading.

It might not sound like much, but simply knowing that my porch time is waiting is exactly what I need to get me through the day.

reading, alone time, fnding peace, humor, Modern PhilosopherI used to read on my breaks at work, but lately there hasn’t been time for that.  Now I can devour several chapters every night as the sun slowly sets on another Spring day.

Reading has always been important to me, but it’s one of those luxuries that can fall off a schedule when something has to go to make room for a task that might not be so enjoyable.

Believe it or not, sometimes the best way to find peace and happiness is by releasing your inner bookworm.

Reading is more than just a way to distract my brain from the more stressful parts of life by sending it on a much needed adventure.

For me, reading is a way to get my creative juices flowing.  When I’m reading a good book, it sparks something inside me that makes me want to write.  I hope to take people like me on a ride, help them forget about work, and give them the adventure they’ve been craving.

So when you see me reading, you really need to go away.  Not only would you be interrupting the magical mystery tour my brain is enjoying, but you’d also be thwarting my creative process, thereby depriving an untold number of other readers from one day devouring whatever piece of writing I’m meticulously plotting in my head.

I’ve still got a long way to go before my life is perfectly balanced, but I’m currently content with the little chunk of well deserved happiness I’ve carved out for myself at the end of every day.

reading, alone time, fnding peace, humor, Modern PhilosopherEvery journey has to begin somewhere.

Mine is on the front porch with my laptop, a good book, and a whole lot of nothing else.

Sometimes, the simplest things shine the brightest light on the path one should take in order to find true contentment.

Damn!  Look at how philosophical I’ve gotten simply because I’ve given my brain a little love.  Imagine what I could do if I freed my mind from its shackles and really let it roam free…

Why are you still here?  Go away and let me read in peace!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Go Away! I’m Reading

  1. davidprosser says:

    Read on Austin.
    Hugs

  2. Louise says:

    Sexy ankles thr must b all the walking, c its just as good as that running thing ya had going. Yep the late afternoon sunshine and quiet is SOOO good. Keep on reading.

  3. lindahobden says:

    I can so relate to this post – I can’t unwind until I have read a chapter or two, regardless of what time it is. I just love to read! It’s an important part of my day.

  4. cbiz50 says:

    Readers are the best writers.

  5. My mind boggles at your mind wandering and roaming further but keep it up.
    ~~dru~~

  6. RahulYuvi says:

    Wonderfully expressed…I too discovered my love for books as recently as a year or so..though I am travel blogger but as far as reading is concerned , I have restricted myself to spiritual books ..”Autobiography of a Yogi ” is my current pick !

  7. Thanks for the reminder! It’s so important to set aside time for yourself each day, I’m three-quarters of the way through reading Carrie Fisher’s ‘The Princess Diarist’, but I had temporarily put it down due to distractions, so I will make the effort to resume tonight. Also adding: “douse myself in holy water to kill the demons” to my daily to-do list.

    • Austin says:

      I’m glad I could be a help. It sounds like we would make a good team, supporting each other, and chasing away demons together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

