Beat The Heat

fitness, health, running, Maine, heat wave, humor, Modern PhilosopherIt’s going to be a real scorcher in Maine today, Modern Philosophers!

The weather wizards have looked into their crystal balls and seen a future where the mercury skyrockets to 91 degrees.  That’s wicked hot, as the locals would say.

Even though I’m super dedicated to my new workout routine, I’m not crazy enough to mess around when the sun decides to show off how powerful it is.

I mean, who is it even trying to impress?  It’s already the center of our universe.  What more does it want?

But I’m getting off track here.  The point is, I don’t want to butt heads with Heat Miser, but I also don’t want to fall behind on my workout routine.  So I planned ahead.

I mowed the lawn yesterday when it was much cooler, rather than leaving it for today as I usually do.

I generally cook my meal for the week on Sundays, but I didn’t want the stove on today in this heat, so I played Chef of the Future last night.

I woke up early to get my run done before it became hot enough to melt me.  Plus, I decided I wasn’t going to push myself to do a long, five mile plus run today because that would just be nuts in this weather.

So I went out and ran 4.6 miles.  It was 71 degrees when I left The House on the Hill and 79 when I returned what seemed like 3 hours later.  I ran very slowly because I was drained from putting up 23,000 steps yesterday and it was icky and humid.  Blah!

Luckily, it’s much cooler inside The House on the Hill than it is outside in Heat Miser’s sauna.  The plan is to stay in here and watch the Yankees game.  There’s no way I’m going to even attempt to collect 23,000 steps in a heat wave.

fitness, health, running, Maine, heat wave, humor, Modern PhilosopherOf course, I do intend to walk after every meal, which has been my routine.  After breakfast, though, I made sure to pick a shady route, took my time, and chugged the bottle of water I brought with me.

I’ve already earned 13,000 steps today, so even if I didn’t move for the rest of the day, I have surpassed the 10,000 steps goal that my FitBit master sets for me.  But it’s not like me to just sit around and do nothing.

I’m going to beat the heat, but will do so wisely.  By the way, the scale told me this morning that I’ve lost 30 lbs since April 1!  Stay cool, Modern Philosophers.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Beat The Heat

  1. Oh boy! I hope you manage to inspire me at some point with your wonderful focus on fitness and it rubs off. I’ve been a lazy bum all weekend recuperating from too much part week!

  2. A wise man lives to say; “I told you so”.
    ~~dru~~

  3. elmarieventer says:

    Sounds epic. Well done for heading out anyways. I’m facing the opposite problem of not adjusting to German summers (which are much colder than the summers I am used to). I’m going to have to change my routine to work out in the evenings when it isn’t below 20 degrees celsius.

Leave a Reply

