I Need Fuel, Bring Me Meats!

barbecue, food, red meat, running, health, fitness, humor, Modern PhilosopherI’m quite impressed with something I did this morning, Modern Philosophers, and now you get to read all about it!

I was off running, as I’m prone to do nowadays since I’m on this health kick, and my inner Flash definitely took control of the wheel.  For the first time in the eleven weeks I’ve been running like a sweaty-toothed madman through the streets of my neighborhood, I finished a run with a pace of less than a 10:00 mile!

It was only 3.4 miles, but it was my fifth run in six days, so I’m calling it quite the accomplishment.  The really cool thing is that I did mile 3 in just 9:15.

Where did that come from?

The benefits of going for a run when I’m still half asleep are now beginning to reveal themselves, Modern Philosophers.

I’m really quite proud of myself.  My FitBit gives me little tips on how to improve my workouts and resting heart rate, so I thought I’d give some of them a shot.  I’ve been pushing myself harder on my runs, and even added an extra day where I run a short, flat loop with the sole purpose being to work on increasing my speed.

Today, that work paid off on my regular running route with all the hills.

Woo hoo for Austin!

This afternoon, I was talking to someone very important to me, and she congratulated me on my hard work and told me my weight loss was quite obvious.  Kind words from such a source is the kind of fuel I need to keep me going.

But tonight I’m thinking about a different kind of fuel.  I posted this photo on Facebook  when I got home from work…

barbecue, food, red meat, running, health, fitness, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe caption read: Screw the diet!  I’m eating all of it!

Yes, those were the actual contents of my shopping cart this evening.  No, I haven’t completely lost my mind, but I did try to convince my grocery store crush that this was going to be my dinner as we made small talk while she was ringing up my purchase.

She giggled, but did not seem to believe me.  I guess that’s a relief.

We’re actually having a barbecue at work tomorrow, so I stopped to buy enough red meat to feed sixty hungry people.  Right now, it’s all in my fridge, calling out to me, and explaining how it’s the perfect fuel for a body that’s been running like crazy for the past eleven weeks.

Because of this, I’ve spent the evening out walking.  Far away from the siren call of the hamburgers and red hot dogs.

barbecue, food, red meat, running, health, fitness, humor, Modern PhilosopherThat’s why I’m writing this post out on the porch even though a storm is brewing and it’s getting rather chilly.

The meats are beckoning.  My fuel tank is empty, but I need to avoid temptation.

After all, you don’t get to look this handsome and run sub-ten minute miles if you remain dependent on yummy meat fuels and devour the sixty burgers and sixty hot dogs that are raising a ruckus in the fridge.

I really kicked some ass out on the road today, and that’s fuel enough for me…

Follow me on my blog and on Pinterest, and maybe I’ll throw a burger on the grill for you, too…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Need Fuel, Bring Me Meats!

  1. JustJan says:

    Wait a minute, Veggie Bubba Burgers??? What are those like? I like a Boca Burger every now and then but hey….

Leave a Reply

