Being Better At Life

life, philosophy, self-improvement, humor, Modern PhilosopherI was walking down the hall today, Modern Philosophers, minding my own business and staying out of trouble, when a coworker stopped me.

“There’s something different about you, Austin,” she informed me.

The coworker who was with her, immediately jumped in and said that I had lost a lot of weight.  She was right, but I think that’s really just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to what’s different about me.

Of course, to the casual observer, it would be the most obvious difference.  When you look at me now, you see a guy who is thirty pounds lighter, wears clothes that fit him much better, and doesn’t get winded if he has to talk and walk at the same time.

However, there’s so much more going on beneath that thinner, handsomer surface.

I was giving this some Deep Thought during one of my walks today, since fat burning mode and philosophical mode seem to be one and the same for me lately.

The recurring thought that stuck with me as I wandered around in pursuit of a healthier version of me was…

I’m being better at life.

What exactly does that mean?  It might be hard to explain, Modern Philosophers, but it makes perfect sense to me.

Just yesterday, a few coworkers were razzing me about how they didn’t want to be FitBit friends with me anymore because I pile up way too many steps every day, and it makes them feel like underachievers.

I did not apologize for being better at life.

I’m pushing myself to test my limits so I can be healthier, lose weight, and be a better version of me.

They should be finding a higher gear to see if they can keep up with me.  That’s how you get to be better at life!

And it’s not just about fitness.  I feel like I’ve taken a whole new approach to life.  I have a tendency to react to life, allow it to bully me into submission, and just try to make the most of whatever hand it deals me.

Now I’m looking to be proactive.

I start my day with a run so my self-confidence skyrockets, and I get to work feeling great about myself.  I’m no longer just hoping to survive until 5:00.  I’m plotting how to get the most out of my time at work.  I want to improve my all around day, rather than just thinking of it as eight hours of punching the clock.

Lloyd Dobler, life, philosophy, self-improvement, humor, Modern PhilosopherTo quote Lloyd Dobler, I’m looking for a dare to be great situation.

I recently had the epiphany that I’ve been  approaching life in the same way that I approach a run.

I’ve always started out super slow, not wanting to take any chances and risk running out of energy before I get safely back to The House on the Hill.  Then my FitBit taught me that I could improve my resting heart rate by pushing myself harder and increasing the intensity of my workouts.

So now when I run, I’m constantly increasing my pace.  I set out faster, and I don’t just coast anymore.  I rarely stop to walk in the middle of a run.  I’m constantly surprising myself at how far I can go and how much faster I can complete a run.

Over the last three weeks, my resting heart rate has dipped from 60 to 54 bpm.

I’m being better at life.

I’m applying this same philosophy to my day.  I get up early and push myself with a run, sit ups, and weightlifting before work.

When I get to work, I don’t sink into into a mood of doom and gloom.  I’m positive, social, productive, and conquering my day rather than allowing it to bully me.

When I get home, I make time for me.  I get in a walk after dinner, but that’s because I want to burn calories and push myself to see how many steps I can collect.  I’m challenging myself to burn 5,000 calories a day and get at least 20,000 steps.  I want to step on the scale at the end of the week and see that I’ve lost 3 lbs.

But I also set aside time to write, read out on the porch, and turn off my brain long enough to enjoy some of the shows clustered on my DVR.

I might not have anything concrete to show for it yet, but this new approach has led to my making progress in my other two major goals: being able to support myself full time as a writer and being in a new relationship.

The cool thing about this philosophy is that it’s easy to implement.  All you’ve got to do is up your game and take a more kick ass approach to life.  You don’t have to become a different person.  Just be a better version of yourself.

life, philosophy, self-improvement, humor, Modern PhilosopherSince I’ve adopted this approach, I’m accomplishing more on a daily basis than I have in a very long time.

I feel like I can do anything.

I can’t wait to see what I can do tomorrow, and how that affects the bigger picture.

I’m being better at life.

My boy Lloyd Dobler would be proud.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Being Better At Life

  1. ksbeth says:

    i’m so glad to read this, austin, onward and upward !

  2. Julie says:

    Your observations about making one positive change lead to others is spot on! You’ve inspired me to get my run in today. My Fitbit is deficient in steps!

  3. wccunningham says:

    I’ll be your Fitbit friend 🏃🏻

    Great post and echoes many of my own thoughts.

  4. littermature says:

    Hey fellow man, great mindset! Keep producing!

  5. Pingback: What it’s like to be peaceful? – Transit Address

  6. Pingback: Being Better At Life — The Return of the Modern Philosopher – TechNetLive

  7. Pingback: Finding That Extra Gear | The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Leave a Reply

