Make America Celebrate Again

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherHappy Fourth of July, Modern Philosophers!

I’m writing this to you from the front porch of The House on the Hill with a perfect view of the American flag flying proudly to my left.

There’s something about small town America that makes this holiday seem more real and important.

When I was a kid, we’d spend the summers out on Long Island and gather for a family barbecue before watching the fireworks down at the lake.

When I lived in California, we’d wander downtown for lunch at the local cafe and then watch the parade that made its way through the streets.

Now in Maine, there is another small town parade to enjoy, and then a fireworks show that I can view without having to leave my front porch.

I started my day with a four mile run, and I came across several people who were out for walks on a beautiful summer morning.  Everyone one of them smiled and said hello to me as I sped by at amazing speeds.  In a small town, you say hello to a stranger because he’s just a neighbor you haven’t met yet.

After my run, I had a big, All-American breakfast and walked over to the parade.  I staked out a place in the shade and waited for the show to begin.

I brought my camera so I could share some images from a small town Independence Day parade.  Enjoy…

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherWaiting for the parade to begin.  There was already quite a crowd gathered by the time I arrived.  Luckily, there was still plenty of shade left.

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherFourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherIt’s never a proper parade without bagpipes, is it?

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherFor some reason, I always tear up when I see the veterans.  I’m not sure if it’s because it makes me think of my Dad, who served in World War II, or I’m just touched by the way the crowd reacts so positively to seeing them.

I loved the way the vets came over to the curb to high five the little kids who were in attendance.  I just thought that was awesome and perfect for this holiday.

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherFourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherThere are always lots of motorcycles in a Maine parade.

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherParades always bring out the clowns, and I’m not just talking about the politicians.  These guys were very patriotic and the kids loved them.

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherI like that they decided to be such sharp dressers for the parade.  After all, it is a spectacle!

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherIt did amuse me that the war veterans could march in the heat, but the Boy Scouts needed to be driven down the parade route.  Perhaps they need to add a Parade March merit badge before the kids get too soft.

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherMainers are never afraid to share their opinions.  Small town life reacting to big time politics.  Yes, President Trump, we are talking to you!

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherMy car might be ancient, but it looks “off the lot new” compared to this beauty.  Sadly, this car probably runs better.

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherYou know how I often right monologue jokes about Maine Congressman Bruce Poliquin, and how he even came onto the show to comment on it?

Well, there’s the Congressman working on the Fourth of July even though the state is currently in the midst of a shutdown because the politicians could not pass a budget.

What giant dedication from such a tiny man!

Fourth of July, Independence Day, Maine, parade, small town America, humor, Modern PhilosopherI’m not really quite sure what to make of this one.  Uncle Sam is riding a rocket and he’s also inside a cannon ready to be fired as a weapon.

Is this President Trump’s new defense plan?  Or is Maine cloning Uncle Sam for other nefarious reasons?

This is the kind of issue that only comes up at a small town parade.  A parade at which I had a very good time with my fellow Americans.

That’s how I kicked off my Fourth of July in Maine, Modern Philosophers.  What have you done to celebrate America’s birthday?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make America Celebrate Again

  1. ksbeth says:

    a great day, and you seem on a happy path at last, austin )

Leave a Reply

