Lost In My Thoughts On A Walk

Thoughts on a Walk, life, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherHow’s it going, Modern Philosophers?

This is one of those nights when I absolutely need to write, but I’m mentally exhausted and physically drained, so I’m not in the most creative mood.  Plus, I think I sweated out all my creative juices when my body ran out perspiration about an hour ago.

Since my desire to write is so overwhelming, I was happy to remember the Thoughts On A Walk feature that the blog’s business managers twisted my arm to create a few weeks ago.  It’s exactly what I need tonight, but let’s not let the bean counters think I liked their idea.

As always, I’m just going to let you go all Being John Malkovich on me, as I grant you access to the inner workings of my mind while I’m out on a walk…

Thoughts on a Walk, life, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherThe first thought to pop into my head on tonight’s walk was “Why the hell is Pandora picking now of all moments to go on the fritz?

I conjured up this Deep Thought because the station had just started to allow The Boss to serenade me with my all time favorite of his songs, but it kept cutting out during the opening verse of Thunder Road.

Not to get all nerdy on you with Greek Mythologyl, but I do wear a toga, so this is going to happen.  According to the myth of Pandora’s Box, once that box is opened, you can’t stop what gets out.

Pandora opened up Thunder Road, and I wanted to hear Bruce belt it out on it entirety.  Ancient mythology requires that this request be granted.

Lucky for the chuckleheads behind the station, they corrected the problem before I had to pull some strings and get my close personal friend Zeus to hurl some lightning bolts at them for failing me.

Zeus and I are tight, and if you don’t remember why, run a search on his name over in he right column and read some of the posts you find in the results.

Thoughts on a Walk, life, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherIt’s been a very draining week.  I can handle to work stress, the fatigue from all the running, and the general vibe of loneliness that pulsates through The House on the Hill, but when one of the cats gets sick, it hobbles me.

Luna’s sniffles have never gone away, but this week they’ve gotten worse and she can’t smell her food, so she’s not eating.

This has me stressed beyond belief.  The kitties are my life and they mean everything to me.  To see one of them in distress makes me break down and weep.  Never in front of them, but when I’m alone in bed or driving to work.

The vet could never figure out what was causing her nose to be stuffed, and the situation had improved to a point where she was sniffling all the time, but still eating normally.

As things got worse this week, I turned to the internet for ideas.

Several websites mentioned holding her over a cup of hot water to allow the steam to clear  her nose.  Luna and I take regular steams now, and I think she actually likes it.

Another site suggested closing her in the bathroom with me while I took a shower so that the steam could work its magic that way.  We tried that this morning, and she sat there like a good girl next to the shower probably wondering what in the world was happening.

I’ve been grateful that she is actually allowing me the clean her nose.  She had been putting up quite a fight, but maybe she’s took weak now to fight back.  I’m choosing to believe it’s because she knows it’s good for her.

And if she lets me clean her little nose, she can breathe easier.  Good kitty.

I’ve caught her eating several time now, which makes me feel a little better.  I’ve been leaving out tuna for her during the day in addition to her usual wet food, and I plan to look for stinkier canned fish at the supermarket tomorrow night.

I’ve also taken to feeding her chicken broth and water through an eyedropper.  It’s a messy process, which she doesn’t like much, but it’s what I need to do to make sure she is getting enough food into her tummy.

If anyone has any further tips and suggestions, please share them in the comments.  And if you don’t mind, please keep Miss Luna in your thoughts until she feels better.

Thoughts on a Walk, life, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherI planned to work up the courage to ask my crush if she wanted to go with me to the free screening of Jaws in the park tomorrow night, but I just haven’t been able to do it.

For one thing, I’m a mess right now because I’m worried about Luna.  The main thing, though, is I still can’t get a read on this mystery woman.  I’ve been much better at approaching her to start a conversation.  She almost always laughs at my jokes and engages, but she never does anything to initiate contact.

Of course, this got the Deep Thoughts flowing.  Looking back at the major relationships in my life, my significant other always made a bold move to make it clear she was interested in taking things beyond “just friends”.

I guess my ability to read a situation sucks, because in every one of those cases, the women fell in love with me.  However, had they not made the first move, I never would have done anything and I would have missed out on a great relationship.

Give me some advice, Modern Philosophers.  How do I get that sign from her that she’s interested?  Or do you just never know until you ask and take the chance?

I will add here that the woman in question is very shy, so what I’m taking as a lack of interest could merely be her shyness.

Someone give me the pep talk I need to stop pining over her, and just find out once and for all how she feels!

Thoughts on a Walk, life, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherI’m not sleeping well.  No matter what time I go to bed, it takes me forever to fall asleep.  Now I’ve got the Fitbit wrapped around my wrist calculating exactly how much sleep I’m not getting every night, and it disturbs me.

I tried to rectify the situation about a month ago by buying a mattress topper and a new pillow.  I think the first one worked, but the second made things worse.

I’ve had the world’s flattest pillow forever.  Melissa would keep buying me puffy, fluffy pillows and insisting they were better for me, but they always hurt my neck.

But I went out a few weeks ago and bought some ergonomic, memory foam, comfy as all @#$%, super expensive pillow that was supposed to change the way I experienced sleep.

Well it did.

I just experience much less sleep than I did with the flat pillow.

So I switched back to my old pillow two nights ago.  It feels better on my neck and back, but now it’s been hot as Hell, so I can’t fall asleep anyway.

Of course, tossing and turning in bed all night worrying about Luna doesn’t help the situation, either.

I need a lovely young lady to volunteer to sleep next to me and rub my tummy and sing me a lullaby until I drift off toe Dreamland.  Any volunteers?

Thoughts on a Walk, life, philosophy, humor, Modern PhilosopherFinally, I was very happy with the reception for Saturday’s post on introverts.  If you haven’t read it yet, here’s the link: How To Party Like An Introvert

I have received a lot of feedback on the post, which makes me as giddy as a schoolgirl at a One Direction concert, and it’s all been very positive.

Except, of course, for that one guy who had to ask why I couldn’t just leave the introverts alone and stop trying to force them to be social.

Sigh.

It’s not like this is a government run blog, and all readers must comply with every word written.  Lighten up, buddy, it’s a comedy blog.  I just want to make you laugh and think.  I’m not trying to force anyone to be the life of the (Communist) party.

Well, the sound of thunder in the distance tells me it’s time to wrap this up so I can enjoy the storm.  Plus, I need to head inside soon to give Luna another steam.

Thanks for joining me on my walk, and I hope you didn’t stray off the trail and wander into parts of my mind that no one should ever visit…

 

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lost In My Thoughts On A Walk

  1. So sorry for your Luna’s breathing problems! My name is also Luna. I am sending healing purrs Luna’s way. Purrs, Luna

  2. Ben Aqiba says:

    Nice walk 🙂
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

