The Accidental Runner

running, fitness, health, humor, Modern PhilosopherI accidentally went for a run this morning, Modern Philosophers.

How does something like that happen?  Well, I definitely blame the fact that it was Monday.  I mean, when’s the last time anything went exactly as planned on the first day of the work week?

Before I get into my explanation for this one, I think I’d better back up and explain my usual Monday routine.

Mondays are always a rest day from running.  I usually go on much longer runs over the weekend, so I give my body a break and ease myself into the work week by sleeping in and just going for a quick walk before I leave for the office.

This weekend, I ran six miles on Saturday and five miles on Sunday, so I definitely needed to give my sexy runner’s legs a break.  They had earned it, and I needed them to be fresh for runs the rest of the week.

So I usually walk a couple of laps around the neighborhood and collect about 3,000 steps before I leave for work.  On a running day, I try to get in at least 7,000 steps before I depart The House on the Hill.

All was going as planned this morning.  I slept in, took my time taking care of Luna, and finally headed out onto the porch.  It was chilly enough for me to have to wear a sweatshirt.  But you know what else it was?

running, fitness, health, humor, Modern PhilosopherPerfect running weather.

So while it makes total sense that a guy who refers to himself as “King Klutz” would be involved in something involving an accident, this morning’s run was really the fault of the weather.  My clumsiness was not a factor.

It was 55 degrees, overcast, and it felt like an Autumn morning.

I had the streets all to myself, and I could hear the gentle breeze urging me to run.

So I threw my carefully planned Monday morning exercise routine out the window and gave in to the call of the summer wind (shout out to Ole Blue Eyes!).

And damn, it felt good!

I expected my legs to be sore and my lungs to be burning, but it was just the opposite.

It was like I hadn’t run in several days, and my body was eager to get back to an activity that it had come to miss.  There’s something about running when no one else is out and about that makes it even more fun for me.

I truly am the King of the Road.

We all know accidents happen for a reason.

running, fitness, health, humor, Modern PhilosopherMaybe the Fates decided it was time to shake up things, and for me to take on Monday at full speed, rather than easing into it and waiting to see how the day reacts.

Whatever the reason for my accidental diversion into the world of the running, I’m grateful for the sweaty detour.

Once again, I surprised myself with how easily I could do something outside of my comfort zone.  My numbers were spot on with any other run, so maybe I don’t need as much rest as I thought I did.  At the very least, I know my body is recovering quickly (kind of like The Flash) and I’m running faster (also like The Flash…hmmm….).

While I’m definitely used to accidents happening, it’s a somewhat knew experience for them to have a happy ending.

I left the house with over 7,000 steps this morning, and I’m already well over 20,000 on a day when I was shooting for about 15,000.

running, fitness, health, humor, Modern PhilosopherI keep surprising myself with how well my body is taking to running.  I guess I should get to a point soon where nothing surprises me anymore.

There is a certain thrill in not knowing exactly where the road is going to take me, but having an idea in the back of my mind that there’s a good chance the destination will be somewhere new and exciting.

At the very least, it’s going to be sweaty.

I hope you all had a great Monday.  I definitely did, and that was no accident!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Accidental Runner

  1. Rachel says:

    Those are some of the best runs! When I’m in high mileage training I usually stick to my rest days. But when I’m not in training and a nice day presents itself, you better believe I’m out there! Great job getting it done.

  2. Kudos to you! I am not a runner at all. Seriously, please don’t make me run. Ha! But, I too, was productive today. I spent about an hour pulling weeds from the yard (way overdue), and got a good sweat on, while also enjoying the beautiful day!

  3. Before when I was lifting, I had a “leg day” and a “chest day” and a “back day”… you get the idea. But I was reading about lifting and decided to have a “squat and chest day” and a “leg press and back day” and a “dead lift and shoulders day” and all my numbers for legs went up. Then I did a 21 day squat challenge and gained 15 pounds of muscle while people complimented me on losing weight. I’ve realized that we evolved using our legs more than any other muscle group, so they can also take the most exercise. In fact, they might need the most exercise to stay healthy.

Leave a Reply

