Defusing The Stress Bomb

life hacks, stress, mental health, humor, Modern PhilosopherThere was a bomb scare at The House on the Hill today, Modern Philosophers.

Luckily for me, I have some experience in this area and a bomb squad suit always at the ready.

As of this writing, the stress bomb that I discovered at about 8AM has yet to explode, and that is a very good thing because it’s a big one.

And to think, the day started off on a great note.  I went for a relaxing run, spent some time with the kitties, and headed to work in a good mood.

I pulled into my parking spot at work, put the car in park, and then it died.  Mere seconds from my turning the key and heading into the building unscathed, the stress bomb revealed itself.

Seriously?  I survived the entire drive to work, which included being stuck at the long red light at the end of the highway, only for the car to conk out on me when I was about to park it for the day?

This is where my experience with such things came into play.  I called my mechanic, told him what was going on, and explained that I was going to drop off the car after work so he could look at it tomorrow.

life, stress, mental health, humor, Modern PhilosopherThen I asked Mrs. Fish if I could get a ride to work tomorrow, cleared the slight schedule change with my supervisor, and told myself to relax because I wasn’t going to miss a day.

After that, I opened my mind to the idea that it might be time to look for a new car.

Towards that end, I did a little research with coworkers who have cars that I like.

That made me realize that leasing a car, rather than buying one, might be a workable option for me.

I’ve never had a car payment, Modern Philosophers.  I purchased my Mustang from a friend and my current car from my former mechanic in California.  In both cases, I bought the vehicles outright, so there was no monthly debt added to my bills.

At this point in my life, though, I want something new.  I’m tired of the stress that goes hand in hand with owning an older car, and I’d like to feel confident that my car was going to get me from Point A to Point B without a problem.

As I said to a friend today, it would be nice to finally have air conditioning in my car.  And maybe I’d be more social and go more places if I had a new, dependable car.

I’m excited about the possibilities, while also nervous about how I’m going to pay for it.

In the meantime, the plan is to let Eric look at the car and figure out what is wrong.  Hopefully, it is an easy fix.  But I need it to be a definite fix.  I want him to find exactly what is causing the problem and replace the faulty part.

life, stress, mental health, humor, Modern PhilosopherThat would give me some much needed peace of mind.

Regardless of whether or not he can fix it, I still plan to look into getting a new car.  Best case scenario, this car is back on the road tomorrow, and I can casually check out my new car options.  I’d much rather not have to rush this and have my hand forced.

I left work a little early so I could get to the garage before it closed.  Mrs. Fish agreed to follow me home, so if the car did stall, I’d have someone there to help.

That was a stress relief.

Of course, the car just wouldn’t start.  But I defused that situation by calling AAA and asking for a tow.  I was not going to coax the car into starting, only to have to worry about it dying the whole drive home.

So I rode home in the tow truck.  No more driving stress on this day.

Right now, because I know that stress bomb is still out there, my focus is on not worrying about the car.  I’ve already arranged for a ride to work, so I can get a good night’s sleep knowing there will be no driving stress tomorrow.

life, stress, mental health, humor, Modern PhilosopherI’m watching the Yankees game and eating some of the low calorie ice cream I keep in the fridge for exactly this kind of crisis.

Yeah, I did let the stress get to me at some points today, especially in the hour leading up to my drive home.  But that bomb never did explode.

I’m so tired of dealing with stress, but it is reassuring to know that I am getting a little better at it.

I bet driving around in a new car would be an excellent way to cope with my stress…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Defusing The Stress Bomb

  1. grannyK says:

    car problems are the worst! I feel like I’m just waiting for the next car repair all of the time. I hope you find something you like and can afford!

  2. I need a new car as well. If it’s over 100 degrees and I turn on the air, my car sputters. So, I don’t use my air. In the middle of the desert. In the summer. It bites. But, hey! Only two more months of ridiculous heat! I still just want her to last through this year and I’ll invest next year.

    What kind of vehicle are you looking into?

  3. Gail Kaufman says:

    Leasing is great. A new car every three years. Go for it!

Leave a Reply

