The Devil Declines

The Devil, short story, Sundays With Satan Short Story Series, Virginia, mourning, Modern PhilosopherIt’s Sunday, Modern Philosophers, and I know many of you tune into this blog today to read our most popular weekly feature, the Sundays With Satan Short Story Series.

Due to this week’s unfortunate events, however, I have decided to cancel today’s visit from The Devil as The House in the Hill is still in mourning.

This probably works out for the best because Lucifer apparently has his hands full down in Virginia right now.  He’s compiling a list of names, and it’s often difficult to confirm identities when the individuals in question are hiding under masks and bed sheets.

The Prince of Darkness asked me to remind you, dear readers, that he has nothing to do with America’s current state of political affairs.  Despite what the Nuns might have taught you in grammar school, Satan does not go around inspiring people to do bad things, spew hatred, and divide a nation.

He’s more of a warden, responsible for running the prison that will punish these folks for their sins for all eternity.

I hope you can understand that I’m just not in a place right now to conjure up witty banter that often teaches us a lesson about the way we live our lives.

Right now, I need to be alone with my thoughts and spend more time with Cali.

Once again, I’d like to thank everyone who commented on the blog or sent me a private message of condolence about Luna’s passing.  Your words have helped me through a very difficult time, and I’m very lucky to have such a wonderful circle of blog friends.

The Devil, short story, Sundays With Satan Short Story Series, Virginia, mourning, Modern PhilosopherYes, Modern Philosophers, I could feel the Blog Love!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend, and I promise to do my best to have a new adventure waiting for you next Sunday.

At times like this, I like to remember one of my Dad’s favorite sayings: “Don’t curse the darkness…light a candle.”

I’ve got a candle burning in Luna’s memory.

I simply need more time to mourn before I welcome the Hellfire back into my home.

Be well.  Be kind.  Don’t let the bastards with the tiki torches keep you down…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Devil Declines

  1. stomperdad says:

    Well said, friend. It’s a shame that things have come to this. Almost as if nothing has changed in the last 200 years. The Devil must be a busy man…

Leave a Reply

