Just Say AAAAGGHH!!!

life, stress, mental health, humor, Modern PhilosopherDo you ever just want to scream, Modern Philosophers?

I had one of those days today.  There was nothing in particular that caused my big pot of stress to boil rapidly, but the cover was ready to blow off that bad boy by the end of the work day.

On our afternoon walk, Mrs. Fish mentioned that I was being very quiet.  Which is ironic given that I wanted to just scream, but I explained that the day had simply gotten the best of me and I was spent.

Plus, polite society frowns upon random shrieking.

The thing of it is, letting it all out probably would have been exactly the release I needed to get me through my day.

When a radiator is overheating, you bleed it, right?

A high decibel, lung rattling, throat scratching scream would’ve done the trick.

But you can’t scream at work.

At least that was the argument that common sense made any time I went to open my mouth and just let it go.

I thought about screaming in the car during my drive home, but there was a really good song on the radio, so I sang along instead.  Plus, I didn’t want to stain the RAV4’s brand new interior with that kind of stress and angst.

When I got back to The House on the Hill, the interns made it perfectly clear that they would not put up with any ear piercing freakishness out of me.

Those college kids know nothing about how to deal with stress.  They just post witty memes and bitch about their problems in 140 characters or less on Twitter.

Whatever happened to a good scream to clear the pipes and calm the mind?

life, stress, mental health, humor, Modern Philosopher, ScreamGhostface knew how to help teens get out the bad stuff.  And I don’t mean by gutting them with that big knife.

He made them scream.  Out with the bad.  In with the tolerable until things get better.

I was going to scream after dinner, since the interns were gone for the day, but Cali was sleeping and looked totally adorable.  I didn’t have the heart to wake my kitty.

Even though they hang out with witches often, black cats are very skittish.  They prefer a loud cackle to a glass shattering scream.

Besides, after being home for an hour, I felt a little better.  Plus, I had taken the time to type up something that had really been bothering me, and getting that out of my head really helped lower the stress levels.

I went for my after dinner walk, and that was probably the best thing I could have done in lieu of the big scream.

life, stress, mental health, humor, Modern PhilosopherThere was a light rain falling, and it was just chilly enough to wear a windbreaker.

No one else was out, so I had the streets all to myself to clear my head.

I probably could’ve screamed at the top of my lungs and not have bothered a soul.

But I let my thoughts drift off to a happy, peaceful, quiet place.  I started to mentally outline the secret writing project that has been taking up a majority of my creative time lately.

Writing has always been my best escape, and tonight it saved me from a sore thought and raspy voice tomorrow.

I do, however, reserve the right to scream if the mood hits.  After all, this is America, and if our leader has taught up anything, it’s that you never hold anything in.  Just let it out.

Even if it’s just to say AAAAGGHH!!!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Just Say AAAAGGHH!!!

  1. I 100% support letting out the wild scream, although I can see how singing in the car could be a similar release. My release more often tends to be tears, but nonetheless cathartic.

  2. RAHUL JHUNJHUNWALA says:

    There have to be some specially designed soundproof rooms where you can scream your guts out and it would not bother anyone else…

  3. Why do you think I play GTA, there is no better stress reliever lol

  4. Tara Leslie says:

    When that urge hits me and I simply can’t ignore it, I fill the kitchen sink with water, stick my face in and let it all out underwater. It’s incredibly cathartic, and you also usually end up with a clean-ish face 🙂

  5. grannyK says:

    When I need to, I scream!!

  6. One of the unfortunate problems of our lives is that we evolved a fight or flight reflex to deal with dangers like lions and tigers and bears, but in modern life our usual problems are middle managers and jerks in bars, so we have the chemicals of fight or flight rushing through our bodies but if our boss is being a bully running away screaming isn’t an option so those chemicals don’t get used and just burn holes in our stomachs.

  7. I completely support (and practice) screaming when necessary. I don’t recommend doing it at work, though. Generally ends poorly. 😀

  8. The Hook says:

    Who says you can’t scream at work?

Leave a Reply

