The Rejections Keep On Coming

I wanted to update you on the querying process, Modern Philosophers, after one week in the trenches.  I have sent out nine query letters for my new manuscript and have already received four rejections.  I was flattered that one agent was willing to wake up early just so she could send me a rejection email at 4:45am.  What a way to start my day!

humor, writing, querying, Modern Philosopher

Three of the rejections have been form rejections.  Nothing specific, only the rehashing of the old “it’s not you, it’s me” line.  The one rejection that had something concrete said that the agent did not represent fantasy and the holiday theme of my story led him to believe it was a fantasy story.

Modern Philosophers, it is a murder mystery set a week before Christmas.  Sure, there are some holiday themes and maybe some talk of Santa Claus, but it is not a fantasy story.  It follows a grumpy NYPD homicide detective, who hates Christmas, as he tries to solve a gruesome murder.

If the agent had taken the time to read the sample chapters and the synopsis, he would have seen that it’s an old school detective story.  It’s actually an homage to The Maltese Falcon, with some humor and a sweet love story thrown in for a little color.

I’m handling the rejections fairly well, but if I’m being completely honest, I was expecting positive replies right off the bat.  Ironically, I believed the Christmas theme would make the story much more marketable than the Bruno novel.  I didn’t expect the agents to be Grinches and go full Scrooge on me.

George Bailey would certainly not be pleased with the responses I’ve received to this point.  And maybe that’s because he’s one of the beloved Christmas icons that gets a shout out in the story, along with the aforementioned Grinch and Scrooge.  And, yes, the Die Hard as a Christmas movie debate does get a few pages.

Overall, I’m still positive, but it will be a blue Christmas, if I don’t get find some full manuscript requests under the Christmas tree soon…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Rejections Keep On Coming

  1. beth says:

    Hang in there, if you never sent them out you would never have any chance at all

  2. Drops of Ink says:

    I agree with Beth.

  3. markbialczak says:

    It’s not Cal, it’s the agents, Austin. Inattentive skimmers!

  4. Lisa Orchard says:

    Just goes to show you how quickly an agent will reject something without reading further. Maybe revise your query a little bit? Just thinking out loud. Keep trying. You’ll get there, I just know it. Hugs. ❤

Leave a comment