Standing on Ceremony

“Thanks for coming over last night,” Aaron said and then held up his Snapple bottle in a toast.

It was the Sunday before Tax Day, and the best friends were seated on their favorite bench next to the river.  It was warm and the sun was shining.

“Happy to be there,” Holly replied and raised her cup of coffee to accept the toast.  “Thanks for inviting me again this year.”

divorce, relationships, Modern Philosopher

“I know you probably think it’s a weird tradition, but it’s important to me and I wanted you to be there to take part,” he explained.  “It only happens once a year, so I like to make a big deal of it, even if it might seem silly to others.”

“I don’t think it to be silly at all,” she assured him.  “And even if I did, that doesn’t mean it’s any less important to you.  We all come from different backgrounds and cultures, so if we don’t celebrate our traditions, we lose a little piece of wait makes us unique.  Of course, you’re probably the only person in the world who holds a ceremony to mark this occasion, but that doesn’t make it any less important.”

“Exactly!” he exclaimed and took a long gulp of his Snapple.  “Traditions are created to remind us of important moments that should never be forgotten.  This one is something that means a great deal to me as it symbolizes my surviving a dark, depressing period in my life.”

“I totally agree,” she concurred with a bright smile.  “That’s why I was both honored and excited to be asked to participate.  What we celebrated last night is also important to me.  I think if more people heard about it, they would add the tradition to their annual list of events.”

“That would be pretty cool,” Aaron replied excitedly.  “Maybe if enough people started doing it, it would become a national holiday.  I could always use another day off.”

“As would I,” Holly agreed.  “The only problem I see with that, though, is agreeing on a date for the event.  After all, it doesn’t occur on the same day for everyone.”

He nodded as he considered her point.  “That’s true.  Maybe if we settled on a date that was like an average for the entire country, it would make sense.”

“That could work,” she decided.  “Either way, I propose a toast once again, even though it’s a day late.  It’s still just as exciting.”  She raised her cup, and he raised his bottle.  “To National Replacing Your Winter Coat with Your Spring Coat on the Coat Rack Day!”

“Cheers!” they said in unison and then tapped their bottle and cup.

“This historic event means that winter is officially over,” Aaron pointed out.  “I love ditching my winter coat in the closet where I won’t have to look at it, and better yet, won’t have to wear it for another seven months.  Life is good.”

“Life is very good!” Holly added.  “You look quite dashing in your spring coat, by the way.”

“Thanks.  You look sharp in yours.”

They smiled, basked in the spring sunshine, and turned their attention to the river.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Standing on Ceremony

  1. kristianw84 says:

    Hooray for replacing winter coats with spring ones!! 🙌

  2. beth says:

    a happy day for both!

  3. markbialczak says:

    An event worthy of a toast with fellow celebrators in the very least, Austin!

  4. Ocean Bream says:

    I did that last week but then had to backpedal because the weather in the UK this year has been all sorts of bonkers! We were out in T shirts last week; this week we are shivering in our winter coats again being hailstoned to bits!

Leave a comment