Wanna See Ya Sweat

“I’ve noticed from your social media posts that you’ve been running a lot more recently,” Holly observed and then took a sip of her coffee.

It was the first Sunday of May and the best friends, finally back from a long hiatus, were seated on their favorite bench next to the river.

short story, humor, Modern Philosopher

“That is true,” Aaron confirmed.  “This morning, I posted something about doing my longest run of the year because I was begrudgingly starting to burn off my fat reserves from the winter.”  He chuckled at his wit and then took a large gulp of his Snapple.

“Referring to that excess winter weight as a fat reserve is smart,” she remarked mockingly.  “To the untrained eye, that fat might look like excessive cake, ice cream, and whoopie pies devoured over the winter.  It’s wise to set people straight.”

“Do I sense a bit of cattiness in your tone?” he shot back with a sly grin.  “Are you jealous of my winter bod?  It requires a much lower level of maintenance than that extremely fit figure you work so hard to maintain year-round.”

Holly took another sip of coffee to prevent herself from saying the first thing that popped into her head.  Then she took a larger sip, so she doesn’t say the second and third things that popped into her head.  “I think it’s great that you’re taking an interest in your health again.”

“It’s not for me really.  I think it’s time to start dating again, so I want to get back into shape.  I’m not going to attract anyone looking all doughy and hacking up a lung after climbing a flight of stairs.”

Holly flashed him a look.  “Who are you hoping to attract?  Is someone going to break into your house and penetrate your secure bunker?  You’re never going to meet anyone if you never leave the house and constantly put up walls.  Perhaps a pole vaulter with lock picking skills would be your ideal match.”

“Someone feels like tell it like it is today,” he countered.  “What did I do to incur your wrath?”

“I’m sorry for being so rough, but sometimes it pisses me off when you talk about wanting to meet someone when all you ever do is push people away.  And for the record, you should want to get into shape for you, not for some stranger you haven’t met yet.”

Aaron took a long drink of his Snapple.  “Fine.  You’re my best friend and I know you have my best interest at heart.  I promise to be more cognizant of doing things for me while also trying to be more outgoing.  Are you still pissed at me, or can I share a crazy theory?”

“I’d love to hear a crazy theory.  I live for those.”  She smiled because it was true.

“I don’t believe this is actually fact,” he told her as he patted his belly.  “I believe this is excess sweat that built up all winter because I wasn’t releasing it on my runs.  I’m thinking after a few weeks of running, the flood gates and my sweat gland will open, and I’ll be fit and trim again.”

“Interesting theory,” Holly concurred.  “I’ve run with you, so I know you sweat like a pig.  I’d be curious to see if you’re correct.  But I won’t be accompanying you on your runs because I’m not sure my nose could handle all that excess sweat being released.”

“Good call,” he agreed.  “I promise to keep you posted.”

That being said, they both turned their attention towards the water.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wanna See Ya Sweat

  1. beth says:

    hmmm. interesting theory indeed…

  2. markbialczak says:

    Let the floodgates open, Austin.

Leave a comment