Some Thoughts Run Deeper Than Others

EarlyMorningRunningDeep Thoughts are a Modern Philosopher’s best friend.  They can also be haunting and incredibly distracting.

I had a very vivid dream last night that was fresh in my mind when I awakened.  It led me to want to write emails to two of the most important people in my life.  The first one, I wrote after much pacing around The House on the Hill.  Deep in thought, I penned the entire letter in my head, mentally rewrote it several times, and then finally sat down at the laptop to compose it.

The second email was going to take even more Deep Thought, so I put on my Running Toga and decided that I’d work it out over a 3 mile run.

Relationship sure are difficult, aren’t they?  Ironically, the easier email to write was the one to The Girl Who Ran Off With My Heart.  When you love someone, it’s easier to find the words to get that across and communicate what you want to say.

The second email, the one that had me lost in Deep Thoughts on my morning run, was to a very good friend who has vanished from my life.  I have a tendency to push people away, Modern Philosophers, but in this case, I don’t think I did anything wrong.  I’ve allowed the friend to drift away because I didn’t know what to say or do to get her back.  It simply became easier to accept that she was gone.

letterSomething about that dream, however, left me wanting to talk to her again.  She wasn’t even in the dream, but I woke up with a very clear desire to write to her and reopen the lines of communication between us.

I spent my entire run working on the email in my head.  I was so engrossed in that endeavor that I didn’t seem to remember that this was my sixth run in nine days, so my legs were probably sore.  For the second straight morning, I put my body on autopilot and trusted it to keep me on the shoulder and not allow me to drift out into traffic.

I knew I had one shot to get across what I wanted to say in an email, so I wanted to make it perfect.  She wouldn’t read something rambling, so I had to get to the point right away.  There could be no insinuation that she was at fault for the silence between us because that would make her delete the email without replying.  However, if I could work in a little guilt, that might really help.

I don’t know how many times I rewrote that email in my head, but I have hardly any memory of my morning run.  That’s how deep my thoughts were.

therapyI did make it back to The House on the Hill in one sweaty piece, and my stopwatch said I did it in good time, so I’ll guess it was a successful run.

Both emails have been sent.  Thus far, neither of the VIPs has responded.  So maybe my thoughts didn’t run deep enough?  I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.  I really hope they reply…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Some Thoughts Run Deeper Than Others

  1. Nuuray says:

    I can’t run to save my life. But I need some more therapy in my life so time to start having long walks

  2. Yes running to a quieter place is the key to deep thought. A ridding of the noise and confusion. Why is Confusion in these days? Check out (ripping book review: divergent) to see what I mean.

  3. D. Parker says:

    In a case like this the reply probably isn’t nearly as important as you expressing your thoughts and feelings. It’s a brave thing to do, but remember, you may not get the response you want or any response, but you did it. I agree with the long walks compromise, I love walking. 🙂

  4. You’re braver than I am. I am just sitting in silence with so much to say…

  5. ofopinions says:

    I’ve been having recurrent dreams about a friend of mine too. If I wrote to this friend, I’d probably express myself better. But, they might freak out a bit as well. A facebook “hi” seems a better option. I’m glad you wrote emails though. It is more grow-up and respectful.

  6. markbialczak says:

    It took you awhile to approach, Austin. It may take awhile for the response. I am hoping they will come. I’m in your corner, my friend.

Leave a comment