Writers Rock!

keep wrtingThe other day,

Someone

Asked me

How I dealt

With

Writer’s Block.

I smiled,

And replied

Quite seriously,

“What’s that?”

Writer’s block?

I don’t

Have time

For such

An affliction.

I just

Keep

Writing.

My problem

Is never having

Enough time

For all the stories

I need

To get

Out

Of

My

Head.

Tonight,

I have

To write

Something awesome

For my blog.

The rest of

The evening

Is set aside

For writing

Monologue jokes.

There’s a taping

Tomorrow,

And

Danny needs

To

Be

Funny.

At some point,

In between

Transferring

All those words

From brain

To the page,

I have

To carve out

Time for dinner.

While writing fuels

This

Dorky

Beast,

Ideas need calories

In order

To blossom

On the

Brain stem.

Writer’s block

Has a simple cure:

Just

Put

Words

On

The

Page!

Only good things

Will follow.

Words prefer

To travel

In packs.

Once one

Hits the page,

It’s sure

To attract

Friends.

Trust your creativity.

Writers rock!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Writers Rock!

  1. Look at you, Dr. Seuss! I needed this yesterday, I agree with everything here, especially not having enough time to get all of the stories out of my head and into the universe… but we can only try.

  2. Awesome! Love it πŸ˜‰

  3. JED says:

    Only good things will follow…

    Inspirational, motivating and wonderful advice. You rock!

  4. joeythebuddhist says:

    I love those old school type writers

  5. cvnadagroup2017 says:

    like

  6. ofopinions says:

    Great poem! I feel the same way too. I think writer’s block is usually a life block, not a creative block. If you look for it, you can usually find inspiration in any situation. You just have to take the trouble of working it out on the page.

  7. You didn’t even LIKE the post I wrote for you 😣 Was it that bad?!

  8. markbialczak says:

    Writers do rock, Austin. Agreed.

Leave a Reply

