It Doesn’t Hurt To Just Try

motivation, inspiration, self-confidence, philosophy, running, dating, humor, Modern PhilosopherMuch like a twelve year old girl, I usually take a selfie after my morning run, Modern Philosophers, and post it on Facebook.  There are many reasons for this:

  1. The photo offers proof of life, and lets my friends know I survived my run.
  2. I like to look back at the photos to track the progress of my body as it slowly shrivels down to something other than disgustingly out of shape.
  3. I like to use the photos in my blog posts.
  4. It holds me accountable.  If the photos stop, my friends get on me and ask if I’ve fallen back into bad habits and given up on running.
  5. The positive feedback emboldens me to keep kicking ass.

After this morning’s run, I was either incredibly lightheaded, or my inner Modern Philosopher kicked Runner Boy aside and decided to take control.

I say this because I posted the following photo with a status update that was oddly philosophical after sweating like a beast for 5.25 miles…

motivation, inspiration, self-confidence, philosophy, running, dating, humor, Modern PhilosopherJust two months ago, I would’ve thought that running five miles was impossible.  This morning, though, my thought was “I could’ve run that five miles faster”.  It’s weird how quickly things can change if you’re just willing to try.

Like I said, it was not my usual post-run, sweaty selfie status update.  However, it got the Deep Thoughts flowing, and I decided to expand upon the idea for this blog post.

How difficult was it for me to transform myself from a severely out of shape and overweight couch potato and into a less out of shape, obsessive collector of steps, who can run five miles without the need of medical assistance?

It was really pretty easy, Modern Philosophers.  All I had to do was try, and I was very quickly able to accomplish something that I thought was impossible.

motivation, inspiration, self-confidence, philosophy, running, dating, humor, Modern PhilosopherI mean, I knew I had the ability to run five miles as I’d done it many times previously, but at that weight and the shape I was in, repeating the feat seemed as improbable as my waking up to discover that President Trump had won the Nobel Peace Prize.

If I hadn’t laced up my running shoes and tried it, I’d still think it to be impossible.

Which got me to thinking even more: What else would I really like to do, but just seems too difficult or even impossible for me to accomplish?

I’d like to be able to support myself full time as a writer.

I want to meet someone special and be in a relationship again.

I want to be happier and less reclusive.

Okay.  I’m going to follow my own advice and just try it.  I’m going to stop dragging my feet on the rewrite of my new screenplay.  I can’t sell it if I never finish it and make it available, right?  I’m also going to work on finding new avenues for getting my writing out to the sort of people who can hire me or offer me funding for my screenplays.

I’m going to work up the courage to ask out someone I have a crush on, but have lacked the self-confidence to approach about a date.  The worst that can happen is she says no, and at least I know she’s not interested.  And if she says no, I will join a dating site, or be more pro-active in trying to meet someone else.

I will stop stressing the little things and make an effort to go out more and be social.

motivation, inspiration, self-confidence, philosophy, running, dating, humor, Modern PhilosopherHey, I won’t know if it works unless I try, right?  Fear of failure and rejection holds way too much power over me.  I need to not let that bother me so much.

And if I’m going to try this, I want you to give it a shot, too, Modern Philosophers.  There’s strength and confidence in numbers.  So just try.

You see that photo on the left?  I didn’t really think I could cook all those burgers with my mind, and I was afraid to try and fail, but you know what?  I just tried, and now no one will ever forget our company’s first Jedi Barbecue.

As Bruce sings in Thunder Road: “Show a little faith, there’s magic in the night.”  Even if you don’t succeed, you can hold your head high and say that at least you tried…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It Doesn’t Hurt To Just Try

  1. grannyK says:

    Good for you! I will try to follow your example.

Leave a Reply

