Friday Morning Halloween Candy Club

halloweenHappy Halloween from The Haunted House on the Hill, Modern Philosophers!

It’s Friday and the coolest holiday known to man and Otherworldly Beings.  Today, you can pretend you are anyone you want to be, and finally ignore that lifelong ban on taking candy from strangers.  How can a day get any better???

Of course, I still have to trudge off to work.  Not exactly the perfect way to celebrate Halloween, but the only way to pay for Halloween candy and decorations is to let the man provide me with a paycheck.  The sacrifices we make for the good of the holiday…

We are having a costume contest at work, but I am choosing not to participate.  In my mind, I am in costume every day that I go to work.  I put on my Working Stiff Toga, the costume a Writer wears when Writing doesn’t provide enough of an income to keep the roof of The Haunted House on the Hill over his head.

Speaking of Writing, my head is filled with ideas for finishing the new screenplay.  I knew these story lines would took root eventually and blossom into the giant sunflowers that are ideas on the page, but it just took a little longer than usual.  Looking forward to working on the screenplay this weekend.

candyAs for Halloween itself, I have bought many bags of candy, and I am ready for the trick or treaters.  I hope I get a small army of them this year, but the realist in me knows that my block doesn’t get much foot traffic.  I’m hoping, however, that with Halloween being on a Friday night, more kiddos will be out in search of candy.

Plus, I’m going to wrap Halloween lights around Gary the Gargoyle so he can fly over The Haunted House on the Hill and attract more trick or treaters.

I hope you all have a wonderful Halloween, and if you’re not doing anything tonight, feel free to stop by and get some candy.  Just look for the Gargoyle wrapped in black and orange flashing lights in the night sky.

Happy Halloween!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday Morning Halloween Candy Club

  1. The best thing about Halloween in recent years (the last decade or so?) are the mini-candy bars. Not only are they easy to give out to the kiddies, but they work well for us writers, staring at the screen, needing a little inspiration. By nibbling on a tiny Kit Kat, just the right word appears. Poof! Happy Halloween.

  2. D. Parker says:

    Happy Halloween! Hope your midnight run with the werewolves went well and you’re not too hoarse from howling at the full moon!!! 🙂

  3. Have fun handing out candy and if the foot traffic up your way doesn’t amount to much, more candy for YOU. Since you’re not costuming up for the contest at work, how about tonight to surprise the kiddies. 👿 😈 👿

  4. Pingback: To get a jolt from my electrodes | Beyond the Crucible

  5. rowanaliya says:

    Happy Halloween! I hope you have a great one!

Leave a comment