Time Travels

porchAn interested party

Asked me

Today

Why

I’d gotten

Divorced.

The question

Threw me

Because

I hadn’t

Thought about

That event

In quite some time.

I answered

That it had been

So long

That I couldn’t

Even remember

The reason.

Of course,

That wasn’t

A satisfactory reply,

So I was required

To open

Old wounds

To give

A sufficient answer.

Once

The conversation

Was over,

However,

I reapplied

The bandages,

And then

Went back

To think about

That time

In my life.

I did

The mental math,

And couldn’t

Believe

That it has been

Eleven years

Since a judge

Declared me

No longer married.

Eleven years?

How was that

Even possible?

Those days

Were the darkest

Of my life,

And it seemed

As if

They had

No intention

Of ever ending.

Yet now,

They’ve been

Long forgotten.

Buried beneath

More than a decade

Of new,

Less painful

Memories.

Time travels…

Some times,

But

Not

Always,

To happier moments.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Time Travels

  1. jan says:

    No one likes to be reminded of a time when the air felt like cracked ice aimed at your soul. This person must not have been a true Modern Philosopher!

  2. That’s hard. You say it was an interested party, so I won’t say it was kind of a ballsy, prying question. I’m always interested in the whys and wherefores of anybody, because I’m, well, because I find it interesting. But I don’t ask, because if they are comfortable talking about it, they will. I’m presuming this person had a good reason to ask. I hope you don’t feel too sad having remembered the pain.

  3. D. Parker says:

    I often wonder when people ask those sort of questions if they realize they hurtle people back to a different time, often a dark time…I doubt they would like the same time travel inflicted upon them.
    You handled it well, Austin and then came back to the present, like a true Modern Philosopher. 🙂

  4. Jan Hobbs says:

    Twenty-fives years ago this spring, with a combination of fear and determination, I filed for divorce. I had been married for the better part of eight years to a man who was emotionally and financially abusive. I had stayed with him out of fear. The morning I turned 32 I realized that life was too short to die with regrets. Funny thing, no one ever asks me why. It’s probably just as well. I hope you are able to continue piling know were, better memories on top of the old, painful memories.

  5. Jan Hobbs says:

    Newer not knew were-stupid Siri.

  6. mcowder says:

    A very candid post, one that I can definitely relate to. Thanks so much for sharing.

  7. markbialczak says:

    You seem to have handled it suavely, Austin, with the interested party. Good job.

  8. I’m glad you’ve found happier moments 🙂

Leave a Reply

